营养不良对健康和发育的影响

患营养不良的儿童会出现发育迟缓、体重减轻和疾病,这是由于他们长期对蛋白质、热量和其他营养素摄入不足所导致。因为孤儿和生活在社会收养机构的儿童可能会患有一种或多种宏量营养素和微量营养素缺乏,他们正被多种短期和长期并发症的危险所笼罩。

短期影响

因为婴儿降生后的前几年生长发育速度快,营养素缺乏可能主要对婴幼儿造成短期影响。

对免疫力的影响

营养不良可极大程度地损害儿童的免疫系统,使他们更易受传染性疾病的感染。尤其是在社会收养机构中,那里的卫生环境较差,儿童极易受到其他儿童和照料者的疾病感染。特别的,锌、铁和维生素 A 的缺乏通常与免疫功能减弱相关。

对生长发育的影响

营养缺乏和胃肠道感染通常发生于孤儿人群。儿童可能由于营养状况较差而患上疾病。相应的,患胃肠道感染的风险可能高过营养缺乏,因为营养无法被正常吸收。因此,营养缺乏与感染共同作用可导致生长发育迟缓。

此外,缺乏某种营养素可能导致另一种营养素的缺乏。例如,铁、镁和锌的缺乏可引起厌食,从而导致其他重要营养素的摄入量减少,例如蛋白质。低脂肪摄入同样可影响重要的脂溶性维生素的吸收,例如维生素 A 和 D。锌和蛋白质缺乏可减缓骨骼的生长发育,使儿童处于长期并发症的危险之中。

长期影响

营养不良的短期影响最终将导致长期并发症,例如生长发育和认知能力延迟。

对生长发育的影响

营养不良不仅在短期影响生长发育,也会限制总的骨骼生长。此外,如果被分类为年龄对应体重偏低(生长迟缓)的儿童持续生活于营养缺乏的状况下,他们可能永久无法重获已失去的生长潜力。

对认知能力的影响

营养不良会对大脑发育造成负面影响,导致运动和认知发展的延迟,例如:

  • 注意力缺乏症
  • 有缺陷的学校表现
  • IQ 分数的减少
  • 记忆力减退
  • 学习障碍
  • 社交技能的减弱
  • 语言能力发展的减弱
  • 问题解决能力的减弱

Impact of Malnutrition on Health and Development

Malnourished children experience developmental delays, weight-loss and illness as a result of inadequate intake of protein, calories and other nutrients. Because orphaned and institutionalized children may experience one or several macronutrient and micronutrient deficiencies, they are at risk for a variety of short-term and long-term complications.

Short-Term Implications

Because so much development occurs in the first few years of life, nutrient deficiencies can have major short-term implications in young children.

Immune Implications

Malnourishment can greatly compromise a child’s immune system, making them more susceptible to infectious diseases. Particularly in institutions where there are poor sanitary practices, children are vulnerable to infections from other children or caregivers. In particular, zinc, iron and vitamin A are commonly associated with weakened immune function.

Growth Implications

Nutrient deficiencies and gastrointestinal infections commonly co-occur in orphans. A child may contract an infection due in part to poor nutritional status. In turn, a gastrointestinal infection places the child at even greater risk for nutrient deficiencies because nutrients are unable to be absorbed properly. Consequently, nutrient deficiency combined with infection can cause growth retardation.

Additionally, a deficiency in one nutrient may lead to a deficiency in another nutrient. For example, deficiencies in iron, magnesium and zinc can cause anorexia and thereby result in reduced intake of other important nutrients such as protein. Low lipid intake can also affect the absorption of important fat-soluble vitamins such as vitamins A and D. Zinc and protein deficiencies can retard bone growth and development, putting a child at risk for long-term complications.

Long-Term Implications

The short-term implications of malnutrition eventually give way to long-term complications, such as growth and cognitive delays.

Growth Implications

Malnutrition not only impacts growth in the short term, but can also limit total bone growth. Additionally, children classified as low height-for-age (stunted) may never be able to regain lost growth potential if they continue to live in a nutritionally deprived situation.

Cognitive Implications

Malnutrition negatively effects brain development causing delays in motor and cognitive development, such as:

  • Attention deficit disorder
  • Impaired school performance
  • Decreased IQ scores
  • Memory deficiency
  • Learning disabilities
  • Reduced social skills
  • Reduced language development
  • Reduced problem-solving abilities