» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题:比较受到寄养监护和未受到寄养监护的低收入家庭的孩子的健康状况

研究地点:美国加利福尼亚州萨克拉门托郡

论文类型:原创文章;病历复查

目的:比较寄养监护下的孩子和低收入家庭的孩子(即有资格享受 Medicaid 福利,不在寄养监护下)的健康状况。

营养效果相关度量标准:

研究对象:美国境内(加利福尼亚州萨克拉门托郡)的 226 个(80 个年龄未满 3 岁)寄养监护下的孩子,以及 264 个(120 个年龄未满 3 岁)有资格享受 Medicaid 福利的孩子,年龄介于 0 岁和 18 岁之间。寄养监护组的平均年龄是 5.1 岁;有资格享受 Medicaid 福利的孩子的平均年龄是 5.8 岁。

方法:复查病历

营养效果:

结论和临床意义:生长不足(生长状况差于第五个百分位)在寄养监护下的孩子中不是很常见。身高是一个特例;11% 的孩子身材矮小。虽然这项研究的目的是比较寄养监护下的孩子和低收入家庭中的孩子的健康状况,以查明生活在寄养监护下的孩子的健康状况是否不止由生活贫困所致,进行这项比较不是为了比较身体生长状况。但是,寄养监护下的孩子的身体、发育和心理健康问题确实更普遍。16% 的孩子孕龄未满 38 周就出生了,这虽然未在此论文中讨论,但却可能影响营养状况。

营养效果的局限性:早产一般是指早于 37 周出生。此论文报告了孕龄未满 38 周就出生的孩子的流行率,因此,未报告早产孩子的百分比。对于所有年龄介于 0 岁和 18 岁之间的孩子,身体生长状况结果都得到了报告。年龄未满 3 岁的孩子的身体生长状况未另行报告。

参考文献:Hansen RL, Mawjee FL, Barton K, Metcalf MB, Joye NR.Comparing the health status of low-income children in and out of foster care.Child Welfare. 2004; 83 (4):367-380.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15310062


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: Comparing the health status of low-income children in and out of foster care

Study Location: Sacramento County, California, USA

Type of Paper: Original Article; Medical Chart Review

Purpose: To compare the health of children in foster care to the health of low-income children (i.e., Medicaid-eligible) who were not in foster care.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 226 (80 under 3 years old) foster care and 264 (120 under 3 years old) Medicaid-eligible children between birth and 18 years old in the U. S. (Sacramento County, CA). Average age for the foster care group was 5. 1 years and for the Medicaid-eligible children 5. 8 years.

Methods: Medical chart reviews

Nutrition Results:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: Growth failure (growth below the fifth percentile) was not very common in children in foster care. The one exception was for height; 11% had short stature. Although the purpose of the study was to compare the health status between children in foster care and low-income children to determine if health in children living in foster care is not just due to living in poverty, this comparison was not done for physical growth. Children in foster care however did have a greater prevalence of physical, developmental, and mental health problems. 16% were born less than 38 weeks gestation, which although not discussed in this paper, may affect nutritional status.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: Preterm birth is generally defined as being born earlier than 37 weeks. This paper reported the prevalence of children born prior to 38 weeks gestation, and therefore, the percent of children who were born preterm was not reported. Physical growth results were reported for all children between the ages of birth and 18 years. Physical growth for children under 3 years old was not reported separately.

Reference: Hansen RL, Mawjee FL, Barton K, Metcalf MB, Joye NR. Comparing the health status of low-income children in and out of foster care. Child Welfare. 2004; 83 (4): 367-380. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15310062


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library