» 返回到孤儿营养文库


标题:评估即将受到寄养监护的孩子的健康状况

研究地点:美国马里兰州巴尔的摩市

论文类型:原创文章;病历复查

目的:说明孩子开始受到寄养监护时的健康状况。

营养效果相关度量标准:

研究对象:1407 个年龄介于 3 天和 18.8 岁的孩子,时间为开始在美国(马里兰州巴蒂摩尔市)受到寄养监护之时。这些孩子的平均年龄是 7.5 岁。开始受到寄养监护时 29% 的孩子年龄未满 3 岁。

方法:在开始受到寄养监护后的 5 天内完成了体格检查。

营养效果:

结论和临床意义:开始受到寄养监护时,年龄未满 3 岁的孩子中生长不足的情况常见。对于体重,低于第五个百分位的孩子的数量,是预计数量的三倍;对于身高,低于第五个百分位的孩子的数量,不止是预计数量的五倍;对于头围,低于第五个百分位的孩子的数量,几乎是预计数量的四倍。有贫血症或铅含量偏高的孩子很少。

营养效果的局限性:贫血症的流行率可能很低,因为此论文的研究范围包括所有年龄为 0 到 18 岁的孩子。一般而言,年龄未满 2 岁的孩子患上贫血症的风险更大。未报告年龄较小的孩子(患病风险更大)的贫血症患病率。红细胞压积是用于确诊贫血症的唯一标志,并未报告贫血症是由缺铁还是另一病因所致。

参考文献:Chernoff R, Combs-Orme T, Risley-Curtiss C, Heisler A. Assessing the health status of children entering foster care.Pediatrics. 1994; 93 (4):594-601.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/8134214


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title: Assessing the health status of children entering foster care

Study Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Type of Paper: Original Article; Medical Chart Review

Purpose: To describe the health of children at entry into foster care.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 1407 children between the ages of 3 days and 18. 8 years at entry into foster care in the U. S. (Baltimore, MD). The average age was 7. 5 years. 29% were younger than 3 years of age at entry.

Methods: Medical examinations were completed within 5 days of entry into foster care.

Nutrition Results:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: Growth failure was common in children under the age of 3 years at entry into foster care. Three times the expected number of children were below the fifth percentile for weight, more than five times for height, and almost four times for head circumference. There was little anemia or elevated lead levels.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: The prevalence of anemia may have been low because the paper included all children ages 0 to 18 years old. In general, children under 2 years old are at an increased risk for anemia. The rate of anemia in younger children who are at an increased risk was not reported. The only marker used to identify anemia was hematocrit, and it was not reported whether the anemia was due to iron deficiency or another etiology.

Reference: Chernoff R, Combs-Orme T, Risley-Curtiss C, Heisler A. Assessing the health status of children entering foster care. Pediatrics. 1994; 93 (4): 594-601. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/8134214


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library