» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题: 生长以及发育、护理环境和认知之间的关联,生活在社会剥夺环境的罗马尼亚儿童,家庭寄养与持续慈善机构护理的随机对比。

研究地点: 布加勒斯特,罗马尼亚

论文类型:原文;随机对照试验

目的:比照生活在养育条件改善情形的孩子,确定慈善机构护理对身体发育的影响,并确定发育和认知发展之间的关联。布加勒斯特早期干预项目是一项随机对照试验,比较慈善机构护理和家庭寄养。

营养相关量度:

参与者:这项研究将 51 名孩子在慈善机构如常安置,另 59 名孩子安置在罗马尼亚的寄养家庭。从来没有接受过机构护理并一直与生养家庭生活在一起的 72 名罗马尼亚孩子也包括在内。

方法:所有不满 32 个月,且没有严重残疾的在慈善机构生活的孩子,被分到两组护理环境中的其中一组,并一直持续到 54 月龄。身体发育的评估每月进行。认知发展在基线、30、42 和 54 月龄时测量,护理环境在基线、30 和 42 月龄时测量。

营养结果:

结论 & 临床意义:在慈善机构养育的孩子生长受到抑制,离开机构护理后的头 12 个月会恢复身高和体重,不过头部大小没有改善。

这项研究首次表明,儿童护理人员的素质与追赶发育直接相关。特别是,家庭寄养的孩子身高和体重的改善与护理人员更敏感且更积极关怀孩子相关。这些发现强调社会和营养环境的相互依赖关系,而且养育护理需要纳入到健康和营养干预中,以增进孩子的健康和幸福。

不满 12 个月就安置家庭寄养与身高的较大提高有关联,此外,身高的较大提高与更好的认知功能有关联。而且,从身高的追赶发育和更好的认知发展角度考虑,这些发现强调早期干预(或收养)的重要性。

本研究的这些发现还强调低出生体重儿的特殊需要。出生体重较小的孩子,生长和认知发展都有障碍。作者提出,这些孩子的特殊营养需要在机构护理中很难得到满足,因为照顾数量众多的孩子时,很难注意到特殊的营养需求。

最后作者指出,他们的发现强调营养不良(营养质量和摄入量)和生长激素/IGF-I 的改变与这个群体的发育抑制相关联。营养不良导致快速发育期的发育抑制和以后生长激素的改变,当生长变缓时,饮食摄入量与护理人员的关系不大。

营养结果的局限性:没有明显的局限性。

参考: Johnson DE, Guthrie D, Smyke AT, 等。生长以及发育、护理环境和认知之间的关联,生活在社会剥夺环境的罗马尼亚儿童,家庭寄养与持续慈善机构护理的随机对比。Arch Pediatr Adolesc Med. 2010; 164 (6):507-516.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20368481


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: Growth and associations between auxology, caregiving environment, and cognition in socially deprived Romanian children Randomized to foster vs ongoing institutional care.

Study Location: Bucharest, Romania

Type of Paper: Original Article; Randomized Controlled Trial

Purpose: To determine the effects of institutional care on physical growth compared to children living in improved nurturing settings, and to determine the associations between growth and cognitive development. The Bucharest Early Intervention Project was a randomized controlled trial comparing institutional care to foster care.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: This study included 51 children assigned to institutional care as usual and 59 children assigned to foster care in Romania. 72 Romanian children who were never institutionalized and who were living with their birth family were also included.

Methods: All children younger than 32 months living in institutions who were free of serious handicapping conditions were assigned to one of the two care conditions and followed until 54 months of age. Physical growth assessments were completed monthly. Cognitive development was measured at baseline, 30, 42, and 54 months of age, and the caregiving environment was measured at baseline, 30, and 42 months of age.

Nutrition Results:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: Children raised in institutional care have suppressed growth and removal from institutional care results in recovery of height and weight, but not head size, during the first 12 months following removal from institutional care.

This is the first study to show that the quality of the child-caregiver relationship is directly related to catch-up growth. Specifically, improvements in height and weight in the children in foster care were associated with the caregiver being more sensitive and displaying more positive regard for the child. These findings emphasize the interdependence of the social and nutritional environment and that nurturing caregiving needs to be included with health and nutrition interventions to improve child health and well-being.

Being placed in foster care before the age of 12 months was associated with greater improvements in height, . Additionally, greater improvements in height were associated with better cognitive functioning. Together, these findings emphasizing the importance of early intervention (or adoption) for height catch-up growth and better cognitive outcomes.

The findings of this study also emphasize the special needs of low birth weight infants. Children with smaller birth weights had more impaired growth and impaired cognitive development. The authors suggest that these children have special nutritional needs that are likely not met in institutional care where attention to unique nutritional demands is difficult when caring for large groups of children.

Finally, the authors suggest that their findings emphasize that both malnutrition (nutritional quality and intake) and growth hormone/IGF-I alterations are associated with growth suppression in this population. Malnutrition contributes to growth suppression during periods of rapid growth (infancy) and growth hormone alterations later, when growth is slowed, and dietary intake is not so dependent on the caregiver.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: No significant limitations.

Reference: Johnson DE, Guthrie D, Smyke AT, et al. Growth and associations between auxology, caregiving environment, and cognition in socially deprived Romanian children Randomized to foster vs ongoing institutional care. Arch Pediatr Adolesc Med. 2010; 164 (6): 507-516. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20368481


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library