» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题: 孟加拉国城市贫民窟寄养幼童的特征

研究地点: 达卡,孟加拉

论文类型: 原文; 探索性横向研究

目的:描述孟加拉达卡城市贫民窟儿童寄养的原因及描述他们的喂养模式和营养健康状况。

营养相关量度

参与者:生活在达卡城七个贫民区的 46 对母亲和她们不满 24 月龄的养子女。这些孩子平均出生后 20 天开始寄养(从 1 至 120 天)。另有 82 对母亲和她们亲生的年龄相仿的孩子也囊括进来作为对照组。进行评估时孩子的平均年龄接近 5 个月。

方法:医生通过家访收集标准人体测量的数据(体重和身高)。有关患病率和喂养方法的信息也通过育儿记录收集。

营养结果:

结论 & 临床意义: 相比于与生母生活在一起的同一区域的贫困孩子,孟加拉国达卡贫民窟的寄养孩子营养状况不良,而且喂养方法不当。生活在寄养家庭的孩子在身体发育的各个方面都表现出生长不足。作者论述,营养状况不良(即身体发育)可能归因于不当的喂养方法(例如,过早引入固体食物),加上疾病,如腹泻。作者还指出,孟加拉国婴儿和儿童死亡十分普遍,寄养护理可能会引起营养不良高发率和高死亡率。他们强调改善这些孩子的营养状况和喂养方法,以及疾病预防对改善他们的健康状况至关重要。

营养结果的局限性:没有明显的局限性。

参考: Sarkar NR, Biswas KB, Khatun UHF, Datta AK.孟加拉国城市贫民窟寄养幼童的特征。Acta Pædiatrica. 2003; 92 (7):839-842.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12892165


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: Characteristics of young foster children in the urban slums of Bangladesh

Study Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh

Type of Paper: Original Article; Prospective Cross-Sectional Study

Purpose: To describe the reasons for fostering children in the urban slums of Dhaka, Bangladesh and to describe their feeding patterns and nutritional and health status.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 46 pairs of mothers and their foster children under the age of 24 months who were living in seven slum areas of Dhaka City. Children entered foster care on average 20 days after birth (range 1 to 120 days). 82 pairs of mothers and their biological children of similar age were included as a comparison group. The average age of the children at assessment was just under 5 months.

Methods: Standard anthropometry (weight and length) was collected by physicians during home visits. Information regarding morbidity and feeding practices were also collected through parental report.

Nutrition Results:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: Children living in foster care in the slums of Dhaka, Bangladesh have poor nutritional status and are exposed to inappropriate feeding practices compared to children living with their biological mothers who are living in poverty in the same regions. Children living in foster care display growth failure on all measures of physical growth. The authors discuss that the poor nutritional status (i.e., physical growth) may be due to the inappropriate feeding practices (e. g. , early introduction of solids) in combination with diseases such as diarrhea. The authors discuss that infant and child mortality is prevalent in Bangladesh, and foster care may contribute to the high rates of undernutrition and mortality. They emphasize that improving the nutritional status and feeding practices, as well as disease prevention, in these children is critical to improving their health.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: No significant limitations.

Reference: Sarkar NR, Biswas KB, Khatun UHF, Datta AK. Characteristics of young foster children in the urban slums of Bangladesh. Acta Pædiatrica. 2003; 92 (7): 839-842. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12892165


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library