» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题:最近到美国的跨国收养的孩子的自理能力

论文类型:原创文章;病历复查

目的:对于最近到美国的跨国收养的年龄未满 3 岁的孩子,记录进食、睡眠和自我抚慰行为困难的流行率和风险因素。

营养效果相关度量标准:

研究对象:从 17 个国家/地区跨国收养的 387 个孩子,到美国时的年龄介于 3 个月和 36 个月之间。大多数孩子 (87%) 都是从中国、俄罗斯、危地马拉和哈萨克斯坦收养的。得到收养之前,59% 的孩子受到孤儿院的监护,15% 的孩子仅受到寄养监护,19% 的孩子受到多方监护(受到孤儿院监护、寄养监护和家庭监护中的两种或更多监护),7% 的孩子得到收养之前受到的监护不详。

方法:对收养的孩子进入美国境内不久后在一家跨国收养诊所完成的体格检查进行记录复查(86% 的孩子在到美国后的 2 个月内得到了诊视)。在医学评价过程中,有关自理行为的信息通过对养父母进行标准化访谈收集。

营养效果:

结论和临床意义:最近到美国的跨国收养的孩子中,进食行为有困难(据这些孩子的养父母所说)的超过三分之一。最常见的进食紊乱表现都与食物焦虑或不能耐受某些食物有关。体重 z 分数较低与进食行为有关。食欲极强/得不到满足的情况,预计会出现在吃过不安全的食物的孩子中,而孩子在新家生活的时间越长,这些行为似乎就越少。作者推测,食物不耐受很可能由典型孤儿院饮食中的食物松软而清淡所致。因此,最近收养的孩子在各自的新收养家庭中,要度过一段困难时期才能转而惯于进食味道更浓郁,结构更致密的食物。这些孩子也可能会因为在孤儿院时很少有机会进行口腔探索而进入口腔防御状态。

营养效果的局限性:这项研究中的进食行为要靠养父母的说明及其觉察到的进食问题来了解。养父母所说明的进食问题可能过轻或过重。将由不是跨国收养孩子的家庭组成的,接受相同标准化访谈的对照组纳入研究范围,会有助于查明这些进食行为的流行率对于这一年龄段的孩子是否具有代表性。作者认识到,后续研究会有助于了解这些进食行为是否会持续一段时间,以及是否需要进行早期介入。

参考文献:Tirella LG, Miller LC.Self-regulation in newly arrived international adoptees.Physical & Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics. 2011; 31 (3):301-314.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21391835


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: Self-regulation in newly arrived international adoptees

Type of Paper: Original Article; Medical Chart Review

Purpose: To document the prevalence of and risk factors for difficulties with eating, sleeping, and self-soothing behaviors in newly arrived internationally adopted children under the age of 3 years.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 387 international adoptees from 17 countries between the ages of 3 and 36 months at arrival. The majority of children (87%) were adopted from China, Russia, Guatemala, and Kazakhstan. Prior to adoption, 59% resided in orphanage care, 15% in foster care only, 19% in mixed care (combination of orphanage, foster, and family care), and for 7%, pre-adoption care was unknown.

Methods: Chart review of medical examinations that had been completed in one international adoption clinic soon after arrival into the U. S. (86% of the children were seen within 2 months of arrival). During the medical evaluation, information regarding self-regulation behaviors was collected through standardized interviews with the adoptive parents.

Nutrition Results:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: More than one-third of newly arrived international adoptees had difficulties with eating behaviors as reported by their parents. The most common eating disturbances were related to food anxieties or the inability to tolerate certain foods. Lower weight z scores were associated with eating behaviors. A ravenous/insatiable appetite may be expected in children who have experienced food insecurity, and these behaviors seemed to subside the longer children were in their new homes. The authors speculate that the food intolerances are likely due to the soft and bland food provided in typical orphanage diets. Newly adopted children then have a difficult time transitioning to more flavorful and textured foods in their new adoptive homes. These children may also experience oral defensiveness due to little opportunity for oral exploration while in the orphanages.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: The eating behaviors in this study relied on parent report and their perceived eating problems. Parents may have either under- or over-reported eating issues. The inclusion of a comparison group of non-internationally adopted families who received the same standardized interview would be helpful in determining whether the prevalence of these eating behaviors is typical for children in this age range. The authors recognize that follow-up studies will be helpful in understanding whether these eating behaviors persist over time and whether early intervention is needed.

Reference: Tirella LG, Miller LC. Self-regulation in newly arrived international adoptees. Physical & Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics. 2011; 31 (3): 301-314. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21391835


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library