» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题: 严重的各方面早期缺失之后,收养后的追赶发育和功能受损状况。英国和罗马尼亚收养儿童(ERA)研究小组。

论文类型: 原文; 探索性研究

目的:描述从罗马尼亚收养的孩子,收养后追赶发育的程度。

营养相关量度:

参与者: 111 名 2 岁以前从罗马尼亚收养进入英国的孩子。大部分在收养之前生活在慈善机构(111 人中 18 人生活在家庭环境,这些孩子在慈善机构的时间不到 2 周)。还有一个对照组,有 52 名 不满 6 个月时在本国收养的孩子。

方法:到英国时及 4 岁时进行身体发育测量。到达时的测量基于进入英国的医学记录核查。并非所有孩子都有记录。

营养结果:身体发育:

结论 & 临床意义: 从罗马尼亚收养的孩子被收养时重度发育不良,随后出现明显的追赶发育。刚刚过半的孩子体重在第三百分位以下。发育不良的程度(或营养不良)与以后的发育功能关联不大。作者从这些数据得出的结论,营养不良对这些孩子的认知功能没有持续性影响。不过,他们指出,可能影响认知能力的是营养不良的持续时间而非营养不良的严重程度。这一点与他们的发现是一致的,即被收养时年龄大些的孩子(社会剥夺时间更长)可以预测其认知功能较差,然而收养时六个月以上的孩子体重并没有这种关联性。但是,从这项研究很难将营养缺失持续时间与其它类型缺失(生理的和心理的)持续时间所带来的影响区分开来。

营养结果的局限性:作者表明,营养不良的程度对认知功能几乎或完全没有影响。不过,其它研究却发现,国际收养的孩子到达时的身体发育与发育功能有一定关联。再者,营养不良也许会对发育功能的其它方面有负面影响,此项研究没有提及。这项研究只检查了一般的认知功能。

参考: Rutter M. 严重的各方面早期缺失之后,收养后的追赶发育和功能受损状况。英国和罗马尼亚收养儿童(ERA)研究小组。儿童心理学及精神医学杂志。 1998; 39 (4):465-476.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9599775


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: Developmental catch-up, and deficit, following adoption after severe global early privation. English and Romanian Adoptees (ERA) Study Team.

Type of Paper: Original Article; Prospective Study

Purpose: To describe the degree of developmental catch-up in Romanian adoptees following adoption.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 111 children adopted from Romania into the U. K. before the age of 2 years. The majority had lived in institutional care prior to adoption (18 of the 111 lived in a family setting and spent less than 2 weeks in institutional care). There was also a comparison group of 52 within-country adopted children who were adopted before 6 months of age.

Methods: Physical growth measurements were taken at arrival into the U. K. and at age 4 years. The measurements at arrival were based on the review of medical records at entry into the U. K. and were not available for all of the children.

Nutrition Results: Physical growth:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: Children adopted from Romania experience sever growth failure at the time of adoption followed by significant catch-up growth. Just over half of the children had a weight below the third percentile. There was very little association between the degree of growth failure (or malnutrition) with later developmental functioning. The authors conclude form their data that malnutrition did not have a lasting effect on cognitive functioning in these children. However, they suggest that the duration of malnutrition rather than the severity of malnutrition could have affected cognitive performance. This is consistent with their findings that older age at adoption (a longer period of deprivation) predicted poorer cognitive functioning, but weight did not in children who older than six months at adoption. However, it is difficult from this study to distinguish the effects of the duration of nutritional deprivation from the duration of other types of deprivation (physical and psychological).

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: The authors suggest that the degree of malnutrition has little or no effect on cognitive functioning. However, other studies have found an association between physical growth at arrival and developmental functioning in international adoptees. Also, malnutrition may have negative consequences on other areas of developmental functioning that were not addressed in the current study. This study only examined general cognitive functioning.

Reference: Rutter M. Developmental catch-up, and deficit, following adoption after severe global early privation. English and Romanian Adoptees (ERA) Study Team. J Child Psychol Psychiatry. 1998; 39 (4): 465-476. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9599775


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library