» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题: 从罗马尼亚收养的儿童的健康状况

论文类型: 原文; 探索性医学评估

目的:评估从罗马尼亚收养进入美国的孩子的健康状况。

营养相关量度:

参与者: 65 名从罗马尼亚收养的孩子,年龄范围从 6 周至 73 个月。收养以前,三分之二的孩子一出生就生活在罗马尼亚的孤儿院系统。

方法:这些孩子一到美国,就立即在 2 家国际收养诊所完成医学和发育检查(大多数在到达后三周内完成)。

营养结果:

结论 & 临床意义:大约三分之一 (34%) 从罗马尼亚收养的孩子到达时表现出发育不良。身长/身高、体重、头围和按身高体重都受到了影响;不过,按身高体重受的影响最小,且在正常范围以内。发育不良的严重性与在慈善机构停留的时间长短负相关。小一点的收养孩子(不足 15 个月),随着在孤儿院时间的增加,所有身体发育量度都下降。大一点的收养孩子(15 个月及以上),在孤儿院时间的长短只与身长/身高相关联。作者提出,这些关于发育方面的发现与社会心理性身材矮小的两个子类相符,即发育不良与持续的心理和/或情感剥夺相关。社会心理性身材矮小的小儿亚型,一般都发育不良且身材矮小。在儿童亚型中,身材矮小是主要的发育结果。10 个月以上的收养孩子几乎一半都头部尺寸小。作者对早期营养虐待和情感剥夺对这些孩子大脑发育和后续发育的影响表示出关注。

肠道寄生虫很普遍(特别在大一点的孩子中),虽然未在此论文中讨论,但肠道寄生虫可能会妨碍正常的营养吸收且可能增加宏量营养素(例如身体发育)和微量营养素(维生素和矿物质)的营养不良风险。

营养结果的局限: 虽然进行了测定,但到达时的贫血症比例没有记录。作者还指出,这些被美国收养的孩子代表的是生活在孤儿院的最健康的孩子,这些发现也许并没有反映出仍留在孤儿院的那些孩子的健康状况。这项研究也是在 20 年以前开展的,可能对现在类似孩子的健康状况或者提供机构护理的孤儿院的当前条件不具代表性。

参考: Johnson DE, Miller LC, Iverson SL, 等。从罗马尼亚收养的儿童的健康状况。JAMA. 1992; 268:3446-3451.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/1281241


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: The health of children adopted from Romania

Type of Paper: Original Article; Prospective Medical Evaluations

Purpose: To evaluate the health of children adopted from Romania into the U. S.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 65 children adopted from Romania, ranging in age from 6 weeks to 73 months. Two-thirds had spent their entire lives prior to adoption in the Romanian orphanage system.

Methods: Medical and developmental examinations were completed in 2 international adoption clinics soon after arrival into the U. S. (the majority were completed within three weeks of arrival).

Nutrition Results:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: About one-third (34%) of the Romanian adoptees exhibited growth failure at arrival. Length/height, weight, head circumference and weight for height were all affected; however, weight for height was least affected and within the normal range. The severity of growth failure was correlated with the amount of time spent in institutional care. In the younger adoptees (younger than 15 months of age), as the length of time spent in orphanage care increased, all measures of physical growth decreased. In the older adoptees (15 months and older), the length of institutional care was only associated with length/height. The authors discuss that these growth findings fit with the two subtypes of psychosocial short stature in which growth failure is associated with continued psychological and/or emotional deprivation. In the infantile subtype of psychosocial short stature, there is general failure to thrive and short stature. In the childhood subtype, short stature is the primary growth effect. Almost half of the adoptees over 10 months of age had small head sizes. The authors discuss the concern about the effects of the early nutritional insults and emotional deprivation on brain growth and subsequent development in these children.

Intestinal parasites were common (especially in older adoptees), and although not discussed in this paper, intestinal parasites could interfere with proper nutrient absorption and may increase the risk for both macronutrient (e. g. , physical growth) and micronutrient (vitamins and minerals) malnutrition.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: Although measured, the rate of anemia at arrival was not reported. The authors also note that the children adopted into the U. S. represent the healthiest of the children living in orphanage care, and these findings may not represent the health of the children who remained in the orphanages. This study was also undertaken 20 years ago and may not represent the current health of similar children or the current conditions of orphanages providing institutional care.

Reference: Johnson DE, Miller LC, Iverson SL, et al. The health of children adopted from Romania. JAMA. 1992; 268: 3446-3451. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/1281241


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library