» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题: 从东欧收养的国际收养儿童的铁缺乏症

论文类型: 原文,探索性研究

目的:评估从东欧收养的孩子的铁缺乏。

营养相关量度:

参与者: 37 名从东欧收养的孩子,到达时年龄不足 24 个月。第一次评估时(到达后不久)的年龄范围从 9 至 23 个月(平均年龄为 15.7 个月)。

方法:身体发育、铁缺乏和膳食摄入收集基线时的数据(到达后一个月以内)和六个月以后的数据。

营养结果:

结论 & 临床意义:从东欧收养的孩子刚到时出现生长迟缓,收养后身高、体重、按身高体重和头围都发生追赶发育。到达时铁缺乏很普遍,而且在收养后的开始六个月没有明显改善,尽管营养和社会条件都有所改善。有些孩子甚至在到达后发展成铁缺乏症。肠道贾第虫感染的孩子患铁缺乏症更普遍,因为寄生虫感染可能会妨碍铁的吸收。收养后追赶发育也增加了患铁缺乏症的风险。这项研究强调,收养后的追赶发育增加了对铁的需求,也增加了患铁缺乏症的风险,即便平均而言,孩子按推荐量摄入铁。这项研究还发现,被收养的孩子即使不贫血,也有患铁缺乏症的风险,而一般的儿科方法向来只筛查贫血症。采用这种方法,没有贫血症的铁缺乏症患儿就没有得到确诊。

营养结果的局限性:这是首次研究国际收养儿童的铁缺乏症(不只是贫血症),只包括了一个小群体。对铁缺乏症,尤其是在其他国家出生的孩子的调查研究十分必要,这有助于为国际收养的孩子和生活在慈善机构孩子确定患病风险。

参考: Fuglestad AJ, Lehmann A, E. , Kroupina M, G. , 等。从东欧收养的国际收养儿童的铁缺乏症。儿科学杂志。 2008; 153:272-277.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18534235


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: Iron deficiency in international adoptees from Eastern Europe

Type of Paper: Original Article, Prospective Study

Purpose: To assess iron deficiency in children adopted from Eastern Europe.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 37 children adopted from Eastern Europe who were under the age of 24 months at arrival. Age range at first assessment (soon after arrival) was 9 to 23 months (average age was 15. 7 months).

Methods: Physical growth, iron deficiency, and dietary intake were collected at baseline (within one month of arrival) and six months later.

Nutrition Results:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: Children adopted from Eastern Europe experience growth delays at arrival followed by post-adoption catch-up growth in height, weight, weight for height, and head circumference. Iron deficiency was common at arrival and did not improve significantly during the first six months post-adoption, despite the improvements in the nutritional and social environments. Some children even developed iron deficiency after arrival. Iron deficiency was more common in children with the intestinal parasite Giardia, which may interfere with iron absorption. Post-adoption catch-up growth also increased the risk for iron deficiency. This study emphasizes that the post-adoption catch-up growth increases the demands for iron and increases the risk for iron deficiency, even though the children on average were consuming the recommended intake of iron. Furthermore, this study found that adoptees are at risk for iron deficiency without anemia, and general pediatric practice has been to only screen for anemia. Under this practice, children with iron deficiency who do not have anemia will go undiagnosed.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: This is the first study to investigate iron deficiency (not just anemia) in international adoptees, and it included only a small group. Investigation of iron deficiency, especially in children from other birth countries, is needed to determine the risk for international adoptees and children living in institutions.

Reference: Fuglestad AJ, Lehmann A, E. , Kroupina M, G. , et al. Iron deficiency in international adoptees from Eastern Europe. The Journal of Pediatrics. 2008; 153: 272-277. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18534235


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library