» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题: 从前苏联和东欧收养的儿童的健康状况。

论文类型: 原文; 医学图表回顾

目的:比较从东欧收养进入美国的孩子,收养前医学记录与登陆后及时医学评估的差别。

营养相关量度:

参与者: 56 名从东欧和前苏联收养,在 2 家国际收养诊所就诊的的孩子。47 名孩子有收养前在出生国家的医学记录。到达美国的年龄从 2.5 个月至 9 岁之间(平均年龄为 26 个月)。

方法:图表回顾 (1) 收养前在出生国家的医学记录及 (2) 到美国后立即完成的医学评估。

营养结果:

结论 & 临床意义:作者发现,收养前的评估和到美国后的医学评估经常出现不一致。根据收养前的医学记录,几乎三分之一(32%)的孩子早产,且超过四分之一(29%)的孩子为小于胎龄儿。虽然这篇论文没有谈及营养风险,早产儿和/或小于胎龄儿营养不良的风险可能更高,并且需要特别注意营养。根据收养后的医学记录,到达时身高、体重和头围都有生长迟缓。线性生长(即身高)迟缓与呆在慈善机构的时间长短有关。而且,到达时肠道寄生虫很普遍,虽然并未在此篇论文中探讨,肠道寄生虫可能会增加宏量营养素(例如,身体发育)和微量营养素(维生素和矿物质)营养不良的风险。

营养结果的局限性:作者指出,由于有些孩子出生日期不详或是估计的,可能低估了生长迟缓。根据收养前的医学记录,收养之前没有孩子出现红细胞比容异常,贫血症的指征。不过,到达后患贫血症的比例没有记录。

参考: Albers LH, Johnson DE, Hostetter MK, Iverson S, Miller LC.从前苏联和东欧收养的儿童的健康状况。JAMA:美国医学协会期刊. 1997; 278 (11):922-924.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9302245


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: Health of Children Adopted From the Former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe.

Type of Paper: Original article; Medical Chart Review

Purpose: To compare the pre-adoptive medical records to the medical evaluations soon after arrival into the U. S. in children adopted from Eastern Europe.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 56 children adopted from Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union who were seen in 2 international adoption clinics. Pre-adoptive medical records from the birth country were available for 47 of the children. Children were between 2. 5 months and 9 years old at arrival into the US (median age was 26 months).

Methods: Chart review of (1) pre-adoptive medical records from the birth countries and (2) medical evaluations that had been completed soon after arrival in the U. S.

Nutrition Results:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: The authors not that there were often discrepancy between the pre-adoptive evaluations and the post-arrival medical evaluations in the U. S. According to the pre-adoption medical records, almost one-third (32%) were born premature and over one-quarter (29%) were born small for gestational age. Although this paper did not address the nutritional risk, children born early and/or small for gestational age may be at a greater risk for malnutrition and need special nutritional considerations. According to the post-adoption medical records, there were growth delays in height, weight, and head circumference at arrival. Linear growth (i.e., height) delay was associated with the length of time spent in institutions. Also, intestinal parasites were common at the time of arrival, and although not discussed in this paper, intestinal parasites may increase the risk for both macronutrient (e. g. , physical growth) and micronutrient (vitamins and minerals) malnutrition.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: The authors note that growth delays may have been underestimated because birth dates were unknown and estimated in some children. According to the pre-adoption medical records, none of the children had abnormal hematocrits, and indicator of anemia, prior to adoption. However, the rate of anemia post-arrival was not reported.

Reference: Albers LH, Johnson DE, Hostetter MK, Iverson S, Miller LC. Health of Children Adopted From the Former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe. JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association. 1997; 278 (11): 922-924. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9302245


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library