» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题:从危地马拉收养的孩子的健康状况:孤儿院监护和寄养监护的异同

论文类型:原创文章;病历复查

目的:说明从危地马拉收养的孩子进入美国境内时的健康状况和发育状况,以及根据这些孩子得到收养之前得到的是寄养监护还是孤儿院监护,比较这些孩子的健康状况。

营养效果相关度量标准:

研究对象:103 个从危地马拉收养的孩子,年龄介于 3 个月和 9 岁之间(62% 年龄未满 4 岁)。56 个孩子属于寄养监护组,25 个孩子属于孤儿院监护组,22 个孩子属于多方监护组(得到多方面的监护:与生身家庭共同生活,受到孤儿院监护和/或寄养监护)。

方法:对收养的孩子到达美国后不久完成的医学评价进行记录复查。收养的大部分孩子 (71%) 都在进入美国境内后的 2 个月内得到了诊视。

营养效果:

结论和临床意义:与从其他地区收养的孩子相比,从危地马拉收养的孩子到美国时显现出来的生长抑制程度相仿。与针对从中国收养的孩子的健康状况作的类似研究相比,从危地马拉收养的孩子身高和头围测量结果都好于从中国收养的孩子。对于到美国时年龄未满 2 岁的孩子,身高、体重和头围测量结果都是得到收养时年龄越大就越差。虽然发育还是滞后,但之前受到寄养监护的孩子的生长状况,好于得到收养之前住在孤儿院中的孩子。得到收养之前受到过多方监护的孩子(与生身家庭共同生活,受到孤儿院监护和/或寄养监护)的生长状况介于另两组孩子之间。虽然未直接评估收养之前环境的监护的优劣,但作这项研究时精心监护(寄养监护相对于孤儿院监护)对于改善身体生长结果的重要性受到重视。

这三组孩子的其他营养效果相关测量结果没有差别。几乎有三分之一的孩子贫血,而且还诊断出了肠内寄生虫感染、甲状腺异常情况和腹泻症状。体内铅含量偏高(可能有碍于矿物质代谢)或有佝偻症的孩子很少。虽然未在此论文中讨论,但肠内寄生虫可能有碍于正常的营养吸收,也可能会增大大量营养素(如身体生长)和微量营养素(维生素和矿物质)都失调的风险。

营养效果的局限性:红细胞压积是用于确诊贫血症的唯一标志,并未报告贫血症是由缺铁还是另一病因所致。

参考文献:Miller L, Chan W, Comfort K, Tirella L. Health of children adopted from Guatemala:Comparison of orphanage and foster Care.Pediatrics. 2005; 115 (6):e710-e717.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15930199


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: Health of children adopted from Guatemala: Comparison of orphanage and foster care

Type of Paper: Original Article; Medical Chart Review

Purpose: To describe the health and development of children adopted from Guatemala at the time of arrival into the U. S. and to compare the health of these children based on whether they received foster care or orphanage care prior to adoption.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 103 children adopted from Guatemala between the ages of 3 months and 9 years (62% were less than 4 years old). 56 children were in the foster care group, 25 in the orphanage care group, and 22 in the mixed care group (receiving a combination of care: living with the birth family, in orphanage care, and/or in foster care).

Methods: Chart review of medical evaluations that had been completed soon after arrival. The majority (71%) were seen within 2 months of arrival into the U. S.

Nutrition Results:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: Children adopted from Guatemala show similar growth suppression at arrival to children adopted from other regions. Compared to a similar study on the health of children adopted from China, adoptees from Guatemala have better height and head circumference measurements than children coming from China. For children under 2 years at arrival, height, weight, and head circumference worsened with older age at adoption. Although still delayed, children coming from foster care had better growth than children who resided in orphanages prior to adoption. Children who received mixed care prior to adoption (living with the birth family, in orphanage care, and/or in foster care) had intermediate growth. Although the quality of care of the pre-adoption environments was not directly assessed, this study emphasizes the importance of quality care (foster care compared to orphanage care) for better physical growth outcomes.

There were no differences between the groups in other nutrition-related measures. Almost one-third were anemic, and other diagnoses included infection with intestinal parasites, thyroid abnormalities, and diarrhea. Very few children had elevated lead levels (which could interfere with mineral metabolism) or rickets. Although not discussed in this paper, intestinal parasites could interfere with proper nutrient absorption and may increase the risk for both macronutrient (e. g. physical growth) and micronutrient (vitamins and minerals) malnutrition.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: The only marker used to identify anemia was hematocrit, and it was not reported whether the anemia was due to iron deficiency or another etiology.

Reference: Miller L, Chan W, Comfort K, Tirella L. Health of children adopted from Guatemala: Comparison of orphanage and foster Care. Pediatrics. 2005; 115 (6): e710-e717. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15930199


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library