» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题: 来自中国寄养家庭或慈善机构的婴儿国际收养后的身体发育和认知发展

论文类型: 原文; 纵向探索性研究

目的:比较从中国儿童福利院或寄养家庭收养的孩子的生长发育

营养相关量度

参与者: 92 名从中国收养进入荷兰的女孩,登陆时年龄从 10.8 至 16.5 个月(平均年龄 13 个月)。慈善机构组有 50 人(国际收养前,接受慈善机构以外的护理不超过一个月),寄养家庭组有 42 人(国际收养前,在寄养家庭护理至少一个月)。

方法:在两个时间点收集生长发育数据。第 1 次是在到达后 2 个月时,第 2 次是在到达后 6 个月时(第 1 次的 4 个月以后)。发育测量由家长进行。采用荷兰贝利婴儿发展量表-II 评估发育。

营养结果:

结论 & 临床意义:从中国领养的女孩有轻度的生长迟缓,随后体重和头围追赶发育,但身高并未赶上。慈善机构组和家庭寄养组在各种身体发育量度或追赶发育上没有差别(不过,家庭寄养组的认知与动作发展更好)。然而,到达时年龄小的孩子体重和头围追赶发育更显著,这强调了尽早提高护理质量的重要性。作者指出,也许有一个敏感期,使发育恢复更容易。体重有恢复但是身高没有。作者认为,这可能是由于改善的膳食摄入让体重恢复很快,而身高依赖于骨骼发育,生长激素系统也许需要更长的时间。

营养结果的局限性:作者指出,孩子的生长迟缓并不很严重,因为中国这些孩子的条件已有所改善。有一点作者没有提到,这些被收养的孩子到达后两个月才进行测量,有些孩子的追赶发育可能已经发生。而且,发育测量由家长进行。作者没有提及谁测量或采用什么方法测量发育;因此,这些测量的准确性是个未知数。最后,这项研究没有发现国际收养之前的护理类型在身体发育上的差别(儿童福利院护理对比家庭寄养护理)。正如作者讨论的,这可能反映出儿童福利院条件的改善。但是,缺少差别也许意味着家庭寄养组的护理条件改善不及慈善机构组;大多数(62%)家庭寄养组的孩子都在儿童福利院呆过一段时间和/或经历过护理方式的转变。不过,作者并没有发现家庭寄养组中只经历过家庭寄养的孩子,结果上有什么差别。

参考: van den Dries L, Juffer F, van Ijzendoorn MH, Bakermans-Kranenburg MJ.来自中国寄养家庭或慈善机构的婴儿国际收养后的身体发育和认知发展。J Dev Behav Pediatr. 2010; 31 (2):144-150.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20110827


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: Infants’ physical and cognitive development after international adoption from foster care or institutions in China

Type of Paper: Original Article; Longitudinal Prospective Study

Purpose: To compare growth and development in children adopted from China coming from either orphanage care or foster care

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 92 girls adopted from China into the Netherlands who were between the ages of 10. 8 and 16. 5 months at arrival (average age was 13 months). 50 were included in the institutionalized group (spending no more than one month of their pre-adoptive life in care other than institutional care), and 42 were included in the foster care group (spending at least one month of their pre-adoption life in foster care).

Methods: Growth and developmental data were collected at two time points. Time 1 was completed at 2 months after arrival and time 2 at 6 months after arrival (4 months after time 1). Growth measures were obtained from the parents. Development was assessed using the Dutch Bayley Scales of Infant Development-II.

Nutrition Results:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: There were moderate growth delays in girls adopted from China, followed by catch-up in weight and head circumference but not height. There were no differences in any of the physical growth measures or catch-up growth between the institutionalized and foster care groups (however, foster care was associated with better cognitive and motor development). However, children who were younger at arrival experienced greater catch-up on weight and head circumference, emphasizing the importance of improving care as early as possible. The authors suggest that there may be a sensitive period when growth recovery is easier. There was recovery in weight but not in height. The authors suggest that this may be because weight recovers quickly due to improved dietary intakes whereas height relies on bone growth and the growth hormone system which may take longer.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: The authors suggest that the growth delays are not very severe because conditions in China have improved for these children. One caveat the authors did not discuss is that the adoptees were not measured until two months after arrival, and some catch-up in growth may have already taken place. Also, growth measures were obtained from the parents. The authors did not describe who measured or what methods were used to measure growth; therefore, the accuracy of these measurements is unknown. Finally, this study found no differences in physical growth based on the type of pre-adoption care experienced (orphanage-care vs foster care). This could reflect improved orphanage conditions as the authors discuss. However, the lack of difference could be that the care the foster care group received was not much improved over that of the institutionalized group; the majority (62%) of the foster care group spent some time in orphanage care and/or experienced transitions in care. The authors however did not find a difference in their results when they included children who only experienced foster care in the foster care group.

Reference: van den Dries L, Juffer F, van Ijzendoorn MH, Bakermans-Kranenburg MJ. Infants’ physical and cognitive development after international adoption from foster care or institutions in China. J Dev Behav Pediatr. 2010; 31 (2): 144-150. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20110827


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library