» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题: 从中国收养的儿童的健康状况

论文类型: 原文; 医学评估和图表回顾

目的:描述从中国收养的孩子到达时的健康和发育状况。

营养相关量度:

参与者:452 名从中国收养的孩子(443 名女孩),登陆美国时年龄在 2 个月至 12 岁之间。

方法:从两组孩子收集数据。192 名孩子一进入美国,立即在国际收养诊所完成医学和发育检查(平均年龄:14.2 个月)。绝大多数(88%)在登陆 2 个月以内就诊。260 名孩子的健康状况(平均年龄:)6.5 个月) 通过家庭医生完成的问卷调查记录。

所有 192 名在国际收养诊所就诊的孩子都完成了发育测试(皮巴迪动作发展量表,密西根大学早期干预、发育概况及临床评估)。

营养结果:

结论 & 临床意义: 从中国收养的孩子表现出发育抑制,这与从其他地区收养的孩子类似。身高、体重和 OFC 迟缓与发育迟缓有关。贫血症和铅中毒很普遍。虽然在此研究中没有进行统计分析或探讨,贫血并伴有铅水平升高的孩子比例很高,也许这是由铅对铁代谢的潜在干扰而引起的。9% 的孩子被发现感染肠道寄生虫,虽然未在此论文中讨论,但肠道寄生虫可能会妨碍正常的营养吸收且可能增加宏量营养素(例如身体发育)和微量营养素(维生素和矿物质)的营养不良风险。据记录,10% 的被收养孩子出现甲状腺功能异常,佝偻症和唇腭裂分别有 1 例和 2 例记录。

营养结果的局限性:从中国收养的孩子出生日期往往不确切,由儿童福利院工作人员给定。年龄不确切可能影响收养后的身体发育评估,因为对这些评估的解释都与年龄相关。不过,根据收养后的评估结果,这些年龄不需重新给定(除了 2 个孩子)。而且,唯一用来鉴别贫血症的指标只有红细胞比容,而且并没有记录表明贫血症是否由缺铁或其它病因引起。

参考: Miller LC, Hendrie NW.从中国收养的儿童的健康状况。小儿科. 2000; 105 (6):e76.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10835089


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: Health of children adopted from China

Type of Paper: Original Article; Medical Evaluations and Chart Review

Purpose: To describe the health and development of children adopted from China at the time of arrival.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 452 children (443 girls) adopted from China between the ages of 2 months and 12 years at arrival into the U. S.

Methods: Data was collected from two groups of children. Medical and development examinations were completed in an international adoption clinic soon after arrival into the U. S. for 192 children (average age: 14. 2 months). The majority (88%) were seen within 2 months of arrival. The health of 260 children (average age: 6. 5 months) was reported via questionnaires completed by the family physicians.

Developmental testing was done for all of the 192 children who were seen in the international adoption clinic (Peabody Developmental Motor Scales, University of Michigan Early Intervention, Development Profile, and clinical assessment).

Nutrition Results:

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: Children adopted from China show similar growth suppression to children adopted from other regions. Height, weight, and OFC delays were associated with developmental delays. Anemia and lead poisoning were common. Although, not analyzed statistically or discussed in the study, the rate of anemia in children with elevated lead levels was high, perhaps due to the potential interference of lead on iron metabolism. Infection with intestinal parasites was found in 9% of the children, and although not discussed in this paper, intestinal parasites could interfere with proper nutrient absorption and may increase the risk for both macronutrient (e. g. , physical growth) and micronutrient (vitamins and minerals) malnutrition. Abnormal thyroid functioning was reported in 10% of the adoptees, and rickets and cleft palate were reported in 1 and 2 children respectively.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: The birthdates of children adopted from China are often uncertain and assigned by orphanage staff. Uncertain ages may affect the physical and developmental evaluations after adoption as interpretation of these evaluations are age-dependent. However, ages were not reassigned based on the post-adoption evaluations (except for 2 children). Also, the only marker used to identify anemia was hematocrit, and it was not reported whether the anemia was due to iron deficiency or another etiology.

Reference: Miller LC, Hendrie NW. Health of children adopted from China. Pediatrics. 2000; 105 (6): e76. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10835089


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library