» 返回到孤儿营养文库


论文标题: 从中国收养的儿童:孩子生长发育的探索性研究

论文类型: 原文; 探索性纵向研究

目的:考察从中国收养的孩子收养后头 24 个月的发育和功能状况。

营养相关量度

参与者: 70 名从中国收养的女婴和与收养组年龄相仿且父母教育背景相似的 43 名加拿大出生的女孩。第一次评估的平均年龄为 13.8 个月(范围从 8 至 21 个月)。

方法:四次访问评估了身体发育和认知发展:初次访问在登陆的 6 周以内,随访分别在第 6 个月、第 12 个月和第 24 个月。

营养结果:

初始

6 个月随访

12 个月随访

24 个月随访

身高

50

50

50

50

体重

10

25

50

50

OFC

50

50

50

90

结论 & 临床意义:相比于那些生活在收养她们的国家的非收养女孩,约 12 月龄时从中国收养的女孩,表现出身体发育迟缓。国际收养的孩子在收养后 6 个月,显现出生长追赶发育,整体测试水平在平均范围以内。到收养后 24 个月,并未在大多数发育量度上赶上她们的同龄非收养组(包括认知、动作和语言会意)。有一个例外是没有观察到语言表达追赶发育;收养后 24 个月,相比于非收养组,国际收养的孩子持续有语言表意能力障碍。

身体发育与登陆时的发育情况和经过 24 个月时的发育增长都有关联。虽然每种发育量度有偏差,登陆时较好的按年龄身高和较大的头围似乎与更好的发育结果关联最大,这既包括较好的初始发育能力,也包括更大的追赶发育。所发现的身高年龄比与发育功能的关联关系强调,营养状况对国际收养儿童的认知、动作和语言发展的重要性。

营养结果的局限性:对此项研究结果的解释应当谨慎。正如作者提到的,除了营养因素,国际收养儿童的按年龄身高可能受到收养前经历的风险因素的影响。再者,在以前的研究中,较大年龄收养一直是较差发育结果和按年龄身高不足的一致性最好的影响因素,在此项研究中,补充了收养年龄与认知和语言发展结果的关联。不过,当发育量度用于预测发育结果时,收养年龄没有包含在分析中。因此,较低的按年龄身高也许不会直接导致较差的发育结果,但是较低的按年龄身高可能是身长不足的标志,而且正是身长不足与发育结果相关联。

参考: Cohen NJ, Lojkasek M, Zadeh ZY, Pugliese M, Kiefer H. 从中国收养的儿童:孩子生长发育的探索性研究。儿童心理学和精神医学杂志。 2008; 49 (4):458-468.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18221351


» 返回到孤儿营养文库

» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library


Title of Paper: Children adopted from China: a prospective study of their growth and development

Type of Paper: Original Article; Prospective Longitudinal Study

Purpose: To examine the growth and functioning during the first 24 months post-arrival in children adopted from China.

Nutrition-Related Measures:

Participants: 70 infant girls adopted from China and 43 Canadian-born girls of similar age and similar parent educational background to the adopted group. Average age at first assessment was 13. 8 months (range was 8 to 21 months).

Methods: Physical and cognitive development were assessed at four visits: the initial visit was within 6 weeks of arrival, and follow-ups were done at 6 months, 12 months, and 24 months.

Nutrition Results:

Initial

6 month follow-up

12 month follow-up

24 month follow-up

Height

50

50

50

50

Weight

10

25

50

50

OFC

50

50

50

90

Conclusions & Clinical Implications: Girls adopted from China who are adopted around 12 months of age have delayed physical growth and development compared to non-adopted girls living in their adoptive countries. The international adoptees showed catch-up in both growth and development and as a group measuring within the average range by 6 months post-adoption. Catch-up to their non-adopted peers on most developmental measures (including cognitive, motor, and receptive language) was not seen though until 24 months post-adoption. The one exception was expressive language in which catch-up was not observed; international adoptees continued to have impaired expressive language skills compared to the non-adopted group at 24 months post-adoption.

Physical growth was associated with both developmental performance at arrival and with developmental growth over the 24 months. Although there was variation for each developmental measure, better height for age at arrival and larger head circumference at arrival seemed to have the largest associations with better developmental outcomes, including both better initial developmental abilities and greater developmental catch-up. The finding that height to age ratio was associated with developmental functioning emphasizes the importance of nutritional status in cognitive, motor, and language development in international adoptees.

Limitations of the Nutritional Results: The results of this study should be interpreted with caution. As the authors mention, height for age may be affected by risk factors other than nutrition that are experienced by international adoptees prior to adoption. Also, in previous studies older age at adoption has been one of the most consistent predictors of both poorer developmental outcomes and poorer height for age, and in this study, age at adoption was correlated with cognitive and language outcomes. However, when growth measures were used to predict developmental outcomes, age at adoption was not included in the analyses. Therefore, lower height for age may not directly cause poorer developmental outcomes, but height for age could be a marker of the length of deprivation, and it is the length of deprivation that is associated with the developmental outcomes.

Reference: Cohen NJ, Lojkasek M, Zadeh ZY, Pugliese M, Kiefer H. Children adopted from China: a prospective study of their growth and development. Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry. 2008; 49 (4): 458-468. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18221351


» Return to the Orphan Nutrition Library