孤儿营养文库

欢迎来到孤儿营养文库 – 全球孤儿健康和营养研究论文的汇集地。

了解用于文献深入回顾的选取文章的相关方法

此外,阅读来自文献回顾的调查结果摘要。

按类别浏览研究成果,找到每篇文章的摘要和完整引文的链接。文章按下列类别分组:

方法

文献中对两种不同的主题领域进行了回顾:

居住于社会收养机构和寄养家庭的儿童

已选择的文章用于文献回顾,文献内容为居住于社会收养机构的儿童和寄养儿童患营养不良疾病的风险以及患病率,回顾基于如下标准:

所有原始研究文章的检索均在 pubmed.gov 完成,文章针对的人群是 (1) 当前正居住于机构性孤儿院的儿童,或最近从机构或寄养家庭收养的儿童,或 (2) 当前居住于寄养家庭的儿童。如参与者的主要选择标准是被虐待或疏忽照顾的儿童,而非居住于寄养家庭的儿童,则此类研究结果不包含在内。

如果文章中包含任何营养度量数据,包含身体生长、贫血或其他微量营养素指标,或造成营养不良的风险因素(如肠道寄生虫),则此类文章将被收录。即便在某些研究中,营养评估不是主要目的,只要包含即会被收录。年龄为 0 到 3 岁儿童的任何研究报告将被收录(如果年龄大于 3 岁的儿童接受评估,则研究成果依然被收录)。

一般性营养不良

已选择的文章用于营养不良相关文献的回顾,包含 (1) 营养不良的患病率、评估手段、风险因素、健康影响,以及 (2) 预防和治疗营养不良的饮食与干预建议,基于以下标准:

文库仅收录深入全面进行回顾的文章,选取优先级基于全球营养状况的关注程度。为了符合这些选取标准,大部分文章来自世界卫生组织 (WHO) 的出版刊物。此外,文库收录了 WHO 营养指导方针,而非美国指导方针,因为 WHO 指导方针针对全球并涵盖发展中国家。

虽然文献回顾的目的是描述年龄处于 0 – 3 岁间儿童的营养不良状况,但大多数出版刊物所提供的内容除涵盖儿童外,也包含成人的营养状况。如果这些营养回顾符合以下条件,则将被选取:婴儿或儿童营养不良存在高风险、全球普遍营养不良存在高风险,和/或儿童营养不良带来的对于健康与发育的显著影响。

调查结果

居住在收养机构或全球范围内最近被收养儿童的营养状况

有关此类人群的大部分研究已完成,涉及到的最近被收养儿童来自国外的社会收养机构或寄养家庭。 许多研究均描述了这些儿童被收养时的健康状况。极少数研究特别关注了营养状况。

总体而言,全球范围内新收养儿童普遍受到身高、体重和头部大小生长障碍的影响。部分研究报告表明,儿童所患生长障碍的严重程度,随着其在社会收养机构生活的时间延长而越发严重,从而强调早期干预的重要性。

少数研究关注了微量营养素状况。主要例外来自部分研究发现贫血已非常常见。然而,许多研究报告强调了微量营养素营养不良的高发病率和风险因素,包含肠道寄生虫、腹泻,或低出生体重或早产。

多项研究结果表明,不论是社会环境或是营养环境,对于提高儿童身体生长均至关重要,因此强调养育照料需要结合健康与营养干预措施,以改善儿童健康,为儿童带来幸福。

虽然数量有限,但部分证据表明,生长障碍与认知或运动发育延迟有关。

最后,一项即将推出的研究关注了饮食行为,它发现此类人群的通常饮食干扰,包含对饮食的忧虑和对特定食物的无法接受性。

阅读特定的研究内容:

居住在寄养家庭儿童的营养状况

有关此类人群的大部分研究涉及到美国国内居住在寄养家庭的儿童,报告内容为儿童刚进入寄养家庭时的健康状况。

这些研究项目持续报告的营养相关度量数据为身体的生长。部分研究发现,3 岁以下的儿童进入寄养家庭时,普遍存在生长障碍;然而,其他研究并未发现太多的生长障碍问题。另一方面,部分研究发现超重与肥胖较为普遍,而年龄为 2 或 3 岁的儿童尤为常见。

一项在孟加拉国完成的关于居住在寄养家庭的研究发现,婴儿和儿童的营养状况较差,并存在不适当的喂养方法(例如,过早引入固体食物)。

阅读特定的研究内容:

营养不良,生长与喂养

营养不良可能由于营养过剩或营养不良所引发;但由于营养不良所导致的营养不良在全球大部分地区更为普遍。WHO 已制定儿童生长标准,描述了儿童该如何生长,并且生长标准已被用于确定儿童是否存在营养不良或营养过剩的问题。当一名儿童的身高或身长(发育迟缓)、体重(体重不足),或身长/身高对应体重(消瘦)远低于其年龄的平均标准时,该儿童即被诊断为营养不良。大约 3% 的儿童患有严重的营养不良,5% 到 15% 的儿童属于中度消瘦,而 20% 到 40% 的儿童属于中度发育迟缓。当儿童居住在食物供给不足以及疾病和腹泻高发的环境时,极易患营养不良。文章回顾了用于婴幼儿的喂养方法和建议,特别涉及到处于成长中的儿童以及患有重度或中度营养不良的儿童。

阅读涉及到营养不良、生长与喂养的相关文章

微量营养素缺乏

世界卫生组织预计,全球超过 2 亿人至少处于一种微量营养素缺乏的状态。三种最为缺乏的营养素为铁、碘和维生素 A,已影响世界人口的三分之一以上。微量营养素缺乏对婴幼儿健康的影响尤为显著,会直接影响生长和发育、抗感染能力以及死亡率。

虽然特定营养素缺乏的风险因素各不相同,但通常的微量营养素不足的风险因素包含:贫困、有限的食物种类、动物源食物的低摄入量、辅食微量营养素的低含量、由于生长而增加的食物需求、对正确饮食习惯的认知不足、较高的感染发病率以及由于腹泻或肠道寄生虫引起的吸收不良。

特定微量营养素缺乏的预防与治疗方式也各不相同,但改善微量营养素营养的通常建议手段为多样化饮食。此类饮食应主要以植物食物为基础,包含多种水果、蔬菜和豆类,以及少量的动物食品和肉食品。足够的脂肪和油类也应适当包含在内以确保部分微量营养素的正常吸收。对于正确饮食习惯、食物贮存和食物准备的教育也至关重要,以改善微量营养素营养不良。

阅读关于特定微量营养素的相关文章内容

全球孤儿

以下研究评估了居住于国际收养机构的孤儿的健康与发育状况。

全球被收养儿童

以下研究专注于全球被收养儿童的健康与营养状况。

非洲被收养儿童

亚洲被收养儿童

欧洲被收养儿童

中南美洲被收养儿童

多个地区的被收养儿童

美国的寄养家庭

以下研究关注了居住在美国国内寄养家庭的儿童的健康和营养状况。

全球寄养家庭

以下研究关注了居住在全球寄养家庭的儿童的健康和营养状况。

营养不良、生长和喂养

微量营养素营养不良

Orphan Nutrition Library

Welcome to the Orphan Nutrition Library – an extensive collection of global orphan health and nutrition research papers.

Learn about the methods for selecting articles used in this extensive review of the literature.

Additionally, read the summary of findings from the literature review.

Browse studies by category to find links to summaries of each article and the full citation. Articles are grouped by the following categories:

Methods

Two different topic areas were reviewed in the literature:

Children living in institutionalized and foster care

Articles were selected for a review of literature on the prevalence of malnutrition and the risk for malnutrition in children living in institutional care and children living in foster care based on the following criteria:

Searches were completed at pubmed.gov for any original research article on (1) children who were currently living in institutional orphanage care or on children who had recently been adopted from institutional or foster care or (2) children who were currently living in foster care. Studies were excluded if the main selection criterion for participants was children who were abused or neglected rather than selecting for children who were living in foster care.

Papers were included if they reported any nutritional measure, including measures of physical growth, anemia or other micronutrient indicator, or risk factors for malnutrition (such as intestinal parasites). Studies were included even if nutritional assessments were not the main purpose. Any study that reported on children between the ages of 0 and 3 years was included (studies were still included if older children were also assessed).

General malnutrition

Articles were selected for a review of literature on malnutrition, including (1) the prevalence of, assessments for, risk factors for, and health consequences of nutrient deficiencies and (2) dietary and intervention recommendations to prevent and treat malnutrition, based on the following criteria:

Only thorough review papers were included, with a priority placed on papers focusing on international nutrition. To meet these criteria, the majority of papers are publications from the World Health Organization (WHO). Also, WHO nutritional guidelines were included in the reviews rather than U.S. guidelines because the WHO guidelines are created to be applied globally and within developing countries.

Although the goal of the literature review was to describe malnutrition in children between the ages of 0 – 3 years, the majority of the publications provided overviews on nutrition in both children and adults. The nutrients reviewed were selected if they met the following criteria: there is a high risk for deficiency in infants or children, there is a high global prevalence of deficiency, and/or there are significant health and developmental consequences of the deficiency in children.

Findings

Nutritional status in institutionalized children and newly internationally adopted children

The majority of research in this population has been completed in newly adopted children coming from institutional care or foster care abroad. Many of the studies describe the health status of these children at the time of adoption. Very few studies focused specifically on nutritional status.

Overall, newly internationally adopted children commonly experience growth failure in height, weight, and head size. Several studies reported greater severity of growth failure associated with more time spent in institutional care, emphasizing the importance of early intervention.

Few studies examined micronutrient status. The main exception is that several studies found anemia to be common. However, numerous studies reported a high prevalence of risk factors for micronutrient malnutrition, including the presence of intestinal parasites, diarrhea, or low birth weight or preterm birth.

Findings from several studies showed that both the social and nutritional environments are important for improving physical growth outcomes, emphasizing that nurturing caregiving needs to be included with health and nutrition interventions to improve child health and well-being.

Although limited, there is some evidence that growth failure is associated with delayed cognitive or motor development.

Finally, one study examined eating behaviors soon after arrival and found that common eating disturbances in this population included food anxieties and the inability to tolerate certain foods.

Read about the specific studies examined:

Nutritional status in children living in foster care

The majority of research in this population has included children living in foster care within the U.S., and has reported on the children’s health status at the time of entry into foster care.

The only nutritional measure consistently reported by these studies was physical growth. Some studies found that growth failure was common in children under the age of 3 years at entry into foster care; however, other studies did not find much growth failure. On the other hand, several studies found overweight and obesity to be common, but this was most common in children over the age of 2 or 3 years of age.

One study completed in children living in foster care in Bangladesh found infants and children to have poor nutritional status and to be exposed to inappropriate feeding practices (e.g., early introduction of solids).

Read about the specific studies examined:

Undernutrition, growth and feeding

Malnutrition can occur from being overnourished or undernourished; however, malnutrition due to undernutrition is more prevalent in most parts of the world. The WHO has developed child growth standards which describe how a child should grow, and the growth standards are used to identify children who are undernourished or overnourished. A child is diagnosed as having undernutrition when the child’s height or length (stunted), weight (underweight), or weight-for-height or length (wasted) is well below the mean on the growth standards for his or her age. Approximately 3% of children are severely malnourished, 5% to 15% of children are moderately wasted, and 20 to 40% are moderately stunted. Children are the most vulnerable to becoming malnourished when they live in conditions that provide inadequate food and have a high risk for illness or diarrhea. The feeding practices and recommendations for infants and young children are reviewed for typically growing children, as well for children who have severe or moderate malnutrition.

Read about malnutrition papers related to undernutrition, growth and feeding.

Micronutrient deficiencies

The World Health Organization estimates that over 2 billion people worldwide have at least one micronutrient deficiency. The three most common deficiencies, iron, iodine, and vitamin A, affect over one-third of the world’s population. The health consequences of micronutrient deficiencies are especially significant for infants and children, affecting growth and development, resistance to infection, and mortality.

Although the risk factors for specific nutrient deficiencies vary, the general risk factors for micronutrient malnutrition include poverty, a limited variety of foods, low intake of animal source foods, low micronutrient density in complementary foods, increased demands due to growth, a lack of knowledge about appropriate dietary practices, a high incidence of infection, malabsorption due to diarrhea or intestinal parasites.

The prevention and treatment for specific micronutrient deficiencies also vary, but the general recommendation to improve micronutrient nutrition is the consumption of a diversified diet. Such diets should be primarily plant-based, including a variety of fruits and vegetables and pulses or legumes, with small amounts of animal and flesh foods. Adequate fats and oils need also to be included for proper absorption of some micronutrients. Education on appropriate dietary practices, food storage, and food preparation is also important in improving micronutrient malnutrition.

Read about the specific micronutrient-related papers examined.

International Orphans

The following studies assess the health and development of orphaned children living in international institutions.

International Adoptees

The following studies examine the health and nutritional status of internationally adopted children.

Children adopted from Africa

Children adopted from Asia

Children adopted from Europe

Children adopted from Central or South America

Children from multiple regions

Foster Care in the USA

The following studies look at the health and nutritional status of children living in foster care in the United States.

International Foster Care

The following studies look at the health and nutritional status of children living in foster care internationally.

Undernutrition, Growth and Feeding

Micronutrient Malnutrition