使用世界卫生组织(WHO)的生长曲线图

成长不仅是营养的结果,还是遗传因素的结果。种族会影响孩子的成长模式,因此有些国家有他们自己的生长曲线图。不过,世界卫生组织(WHO)的生长曲线图用得最普遍,并被认为是全世界的标准。了解更多关于:

» 怎样进行测量

» 怎样将测量应用到生长曲线图中

怎样进行测量

0-24 月龄的孩子进行的典型测量包括:

测量应定期进行,以观察可靠的趋势。建议的测量时间间隔包括:

  • 婴儿 (0-12 月龄):每 2 个月
  • 幼儿:分别在 15, 18, 24 和 30 月龄
  • 3 岁以上:每年

点击这里获取详细的测量时间表

头围

头围是在孩子头部最大部分进行的测量。这种测量通常为 0-3 岁的孩子进行。

测量时应当使用不可拉伸的卷尺。卷尺通常是可弯曲的金属量尺。测量时,卷尺尽可能紧贴着头部最宽围度缠绕。通常,此部位在前额眉毛上方 1-2 指宽到后脑勺最突出的部分。测量三次,取精确到 0.1 厘米的最大测量值。

测量头围

在孩子生命的早期,头围是一种很重要的测量,因为它间接地反映大脑尺寸和发育。几乎所有的大脑发育都在两岁以前,因此绘制的头部生长曲线可以作为幼儿大脑健康的通用指标。

了解关于头围-年龄生长曲线图

» 返回顶部

身长

身长是为不足 24 月龄的婴儿进行的线性测量。24 到 36 月龄的孩子,如果无法独立站立,也可以进行身长测量(代替身高)。

身长是在孩子卧位(平躺)时测量的。测量身长最准确的方法是使用校准的身长量板。身长量板应当有一块与板表面垂直的固定头部挡板和一块可移动的足板。

测量时,将孩子平放在板上,头靠着固定挡板。确定孩子没有穿鞋或戴帽子。有个助手也许可以帮助保持孩子不动并在板中间。让孩子的腿伸直,调整活动足板,使孩子的脚底靠着足板。精确到 0.1 厘米记录身长。

测量身长

身长是孩子营养状况的一个重要决定因素。如果孩子长期营养不良,可能会表现出身长增长缓慢。

了解关于身长-年龄生长曲线图

» 返回顶部

体重

体重是在整个生命期都需要进行的测量,以帮助确定当前的营养状况和趋势。

几种不同设备中的任一种都能准确测量婴儿的体重。如果有盘式儿科秤,可以让孩子躺下称体重。这些儿科秤或为电子式或为含自身重量的杠杆秤,并可精确到 10 克。另一种选择是吊秤。吊秤需要挂在一个稳固结构上(如建筑椽子、门框),孩子悬在秤的称重臂上。

测量时,确保孩子尽量少穿衣服并且没人碰着孩子。在视线高度读数,并精确到 10 克记录体重。重复测量三次,去掉出现偏差的值,找到平均值。

测量体重

如果没有婴儿秤,成年人的站秤也可以用来测量婴儿体重。首先称出成人的重量,然后让同一个成人抱着孩子称重。算出两次重量的差值 – 这就是婴儿的重量。

体重-年龄是孩子营养状况随时间变化的重要指标,如体重不足的趋势。了解关于体重-年龄生长曲线图

另一方面,体重-身长有助于确定一个孩子目前的营养状况。这是衡量孩子是否消瘦的关键指标。了解关于体重-身长生长曲线图

» 返回顶部

怎样将测量应用到生长曲线图中

这些测量可以应用到最常用的生长曲线图中。

在世卫组织的生长曲线图中,有五条曲线。中间那条曲线(标记为 0)为中间值,或平均值。这条线也称为第 50 百分位,因为所有孩子中有 50% 超过这个中间值,还有 50% 在平均值以下。通常,大多数健康孩子处于中间值曲线附近,要么稍高一点要么稍低一点。一个生长健康的孩子,其生长曲线往往和中间值曲线基本平行。

曲线上的其他线称为 z 评分,表示与中间值曲线的距离。远离中间值的点,如 3 或 -3,往往表示某种成长问题。一个点本身并不能给出一个孩子成长的准确评估。然而,一系列的点可以深入了解一个孩子的成长模式和随时间变化的趋势。

生长曲线图示例

» 返回顶部

头围-年龄

在头围-年龄生长曲线图中,孩子的月龄沿着底轴(x-轴),头围(厘米)沿着左侧(y-轴)向上。

画点时,在图表下方找到代表孩子年龄的标记。顺着线向上直到对应孩子头围的那条水平线。在交点位置,用钢笔或铅笔做一个明显的记号。

在头围生长曲线图上,与中间值曲线或多或少平行的散点模式表示大脑发育正常。

头围在 -2 低于 z 评分的孩子被认为患有头小畸形。与此相反,头大畸形是头围超过2,在 z 评分以上的情形。由医师对那些头小畸形或头大畸形的孩子进行评估很重要。这可能会有重要的医学意义,因为头围被认为粗略地代表着大脑发育。

世卫组织 0-2 岁男孩头围-年龄生长曲线图

世卫组织 0-2 岁女孩头围-年龄生长曲线图

» 返回顶部

身长-年龄

在身长-年龄生长曲线图中,孩子的月龄沿着底轴(x-轴),身长(厘米)沿着左侧(y-轴)向上。

画点时,在图表下方找到代表孩子年龄的标记。顺着线向上直到对应孩子身长的那条水平线。在交点位置,用钢笔或铅笔做一个明显的记号。

有些国家的孩子有身材矮小的趋势,在身长-年龄生长曲线图中会有规律地落到平均线以下。当使用世卫组织的生长曲线图时,重要的是需要清楚,如果孩子的成长模式与中间值曲线平行,即便他们的身长/身高矮小,他们仍在正常曲线上成长。

当孩子的身长-年龄在 -2 z-评分线以下,就被认为是生长迟缓。如果在 2 岁以前进行营养干预,生长迟缓的婴幼儿也许能恢复失去的生长潜能。不过,超过 2 岁的孩子如果处于营养不良的状况,生长迟缓几乎是不可逆的。

世卫组织 0-2 岁男孩身长-年龄生长曲线图

世卫组织 0-2 岁女孩身长-年龄生长曲线图

» 返回顶部

体重-年龄

在体重-年龄生长曲线图中,孩子的月龄沿着底轴(x-轴),体重(千克)沿着左侧(y-轴)向上。

画点时,在图表下方找到代表孩子年龄的标记。顺着线向上直到对应孩子体重的那条水平线。在交点位置,用钢笔或铅笔做一个明显的记号。

如果孩子的体重-年龄在 -2 z-评分线以下,则被认为是体重不足。-3 z-评分线上的某个点表示严重的体重不足和营养不良,意味着孩子需要特别的照顾。严重的体重不足可能是生长迟缓消瘦导致的,或两者都有。

世卫组织 0-2 岁男孩体重-年龄生长曲线图

世卫组织 0-2 岁女孩体重-年龄生长曲线图

» 返回顶部

体重-身长/体重-身高

在体重-身长生长曲线图中,孩子的身长(厘米)沿着底轴(x-轴),体重(千克)沿着左侧(y-轴)向上。

0-24 月龄的孩子通常用体重-身长,而能独自站立的大一些的孩子用体重-身高。身长不足 55 厘米的婴儿,很难准确评估体重-身长。

画点时,在图表下方找到代表孩子身长的标记。顺着线向上直到对应孩子体重的那条水平线。在交点位置,用钢笔或铅笔做一个明显的记号。

体重-身长在 -2 z-评分线以下的孩子被认为是消瘦。消瘦是 5 岁以下孩子死亡的最大杀手,因此评估为“消瘦”的孩子需要立即就医。体重-身长在 +2 z-评分线以上的孩子被认为是超重,而且可能有患儿童肥胖症的风险。

世卫组织 0-2 岁男孩体重-身长生长曲线图

世卫组织 0-2 岁女孩体重-身长生长曲线图

» 返回顶部

Using the WHO Growth Chart

Growth is not only a result of nutrition but also a result of inherited factors. Ethnicity can influence a child’s growth patterns, and so some countries have their own growth charts. However, the World Health Organization’s (WHO) growth charts are used most often and considered the standard around the world. Learn more about:

» How to Take Measurements

» How to Apply Measurements to Growth Charts

How to Take Measurements

Typical measurements taken for children 0-24 months include:

Measurements should be taken at regular intervals in order to observe reliable trends. Recommendations for measurement intervals include:

  • Infants (0-12 months): every 2 months
  • Young Children: at 15, 18, 24 and 30 months
  • Ages 3+: every year

Click here for a specific measurement schedule.

Head Circumference

Head circumference is a measurement taken around the largest part of a child’s head. This measurement is typically taken with children ages 0-3 years old.

The measurement should be taken with a measuring tape that cannot be stretched. This is typically a flexible, metal measuring tape. To measure, securely wrap the tape around the widest possible circumference of the head. Typically, this is from 1-2 finger-widths above the eyebrow on the forehead to the most prominent part of the back of the head. Take the measurement three times and select the largest measurement to the nearest 0.1cm.

Measuring Head Circumference

During the early years of a child’s life, head circumference is an important measurement because it indirectly reflects brain size and growth. Because almost all brain growth occurs before the age of two, plotting head growth can be used as a general indicator of a young child’s brain health.

Learn about the head circumference-for-age growth chart.

» Back to Top

Length

Length is the linear measurement for infants up to 24 months. Length measurements (instead of height) are also taken for children 24 to 36 months who cannot stand without assistance.

Length is measured when children are in a recumbent (lying down) position. The most accurate way to measure length is by using a calibrated length board. Length boards should have a fixed headpiece and a moveable foot piece perpendicular to the surface of the board.

To measure, lay the child on the board with their head against the fixed headpiece. Make sure the child is not wearing shoes or a hairpiece. An assistant may be helpful to hold the child still and centered on the board. Straighten the child’s legs and adjust the moveable foot piece so the soles of the feet are against the foot piece. Record the length to the nearest 0.1 cm.

Measuring Length

Length is an important determinant of a child’s nutritional status. Children may exhibit slow growth in length if they have been undernourished for a long time.

Learn about the length-for-age growth chart.

» Back to Top

Weight

Weight is a measurement taken throughout the lifespan to help determine trends and current nutritional status.

Infant weight can be accurately measured using one of several different pieces of equipment. If available, a pan-type pediatric scale allows a child to be weighed while lying down. These pediatric scales are either electronic or beam scales with non-detachable weights, and are accurate to the nearest 10 gram. Another option is a hanging scale. A hanging scale needs to be attached to a sturdy structure (e.g. building rafter, door frame) and the child is suspended from the scale in weighing pants.

To measure, make sure the child is wearing as little clothing as possible and that no one is touching the child. Read the scale at eye-level and record weight to the nearest 10 gram. Repeat the measurement three times, exclude values that appear skewed, and find the average.

Measuring Weight

In the event a baby scale is unavailable, an adult standing scale can be used to measure infant weight. Weigh an adult first, and then weigh the same adult while holding a child. Find the difference between the two weights – this is the infant’s weight.

Weight-for-age is an important indicator of a child’s nutritional status over time, such as trends in underweight. Learn about the weight-for-age growth chart .

Weight-for-length, on the other hand, helps determine a child’s current nutritional status. This is the key indicator for determining wasting in children. Learn about the weight-for-length growth chart.

» Back to Top

How to Apply Measurements to Growth Charts

These measurements can then be applied to the most commonly used growth charts.

On the WHO Growth Charts, there are five curves. The middle curve (labeled 0) is the median, or average. This line is also called the 50th percentile, because 50 percent of all children are above the median and 50 percent fall below. Generally, most healthy children fall near the median curve, either a little above or below. A normally growing child will typically have a growth curve that is somewhat parallel to the median.

Other lines on the curve, called z-score lines, indicate distance from the median curve. Points far from the median, such as a 3 or -3, typically indicate some kind of growth problem. One point on its own does not give an accurate assessment of a child’s growth. Instead, a series of points provides insight into a child’s growth patterns and tendencies over time.

Example Growth Chart

» Back to Top

Head Circumference-for-Age

On the head circumference-for-age growth chart, the child’s age in months is along the bottom (x-axis) and the child’s head circumference (in centimeters) is up the left side (y-axis).

To plot a point, find the mark representing the child’s age on the bottom of the chart. Follow the line upward to the horizontal line corresponding to the child’s head circumference. At this intersection, draw a visible mark using a pen or pencil.

A pattern of individual points that is more or less parallel to the median on the head circumference growth chart indicates normal brain development.

Children with head circumference falling below the -2 z-score line are considered to have microcephaly. In contrast, macrocephaly is a condition when head circumference is higher than the 2 z-score line. It is important that a medical doctor assess children found to have either microcephaly or macrocephaly. There may be serious medical implications since it is assumed head circumference serves as a rough proxy for brain growth.

WHO Boys 0-2 head circumference-for-age growth chart

WHO Girls 0-2 head circumference-for-age growth chart

» Back to Top

Length-for-Age

On the length-for-age chart, the child’s age in months is along the bottom (x-axis) and the child’s length (in centimeters) is up the left side (y-axis).

To plot a point, find the mark representing the child’s age on the bottom of the chart. Follow the line upward to the horizontal line corresponding to the child’s length. At this intersection, draw a visible mark using a pen or pencil.

In some countries, children tend to be of shorter stature and will regularly fall below the median on the length-for-age growth chart. When using the WHO growth charts it is important to keep in mind that if a child’s growth pattern is parallel to the median line, they are growing along a normal curve despite their low length/height.

Children are considered to be stunted when their length-for-age falls below the -2 z-score line. Infants and small children with stunting may regain some lost growth potential if nutrition intervention occurs before the age of 2. However, among children over 2 in nutritionally deprived situations, stunting is virtually irreversible.

WHO Boys 0-2 length-for-age growth chart

WHO Girls 0-2 length-for-age growth chart

» Back to Top

Weight-for-Age

On the weight-for-age growth chart, the child’s age in months is along the bottom (x-axis) and the child’s weight (in kilograms) is up the left side (y-axis).

To plot a point, find the mark representing the child’s age on the bottom of the chart. Follow the line upward to the horizontal line corresponding to the child’s weight. At this intersection, draw a visible mark with a pen or pencil.

Children are considered underweight if their weight-for-age falls below the -2 z-score line. A point at -3 z-score line indicates severe underweight and undernourishment, meaning the child is in need of special care. Severe underweight may be a result of stunting, wasting or both.

WHO Boys 0-2 weight-for-age growth chart

WHO Girls 0-2 weight-for-age growth chart

» Back to Top

Weight-for-Length/Weight-for-Height

On the weight-for-length growth chart, the child’s length (in centimeters) is along the bottom (x-axis) and the child’s weight (in kilograms) is up the left side (y-axis).

Weight-for-length is used typically for children 0-24 months, whereas weight-for-height is used for older children who are able to stand up on their own. It can be very difficult to accurately assess weight-for-length for infants less than 55 cm long.

To plot a point, find the mark representing the child’s length on the bottom of the chart. Follow the line upward to the horizontal line corresponding to the child’s weight. At this intersection, draw a visible mark using a pen or pencil.

Children with weight-for-length falling below the -2 z-score line are considered to be wasted. Wasting is a major cause of mortality in children under 5, so children assessed as being “wasted” need immediate medical attention. Children with weight-for-length above the +2 z-score line are considered overweight and may be at risk for child obesity.

WHO Boys 0-2 weight-for-length growth chart

WHO Girls 0-2 weight-for-length growth chart

» Back to Top