低出生体重

低出生体重 (LBW) 的定义是:婴儿的出生体重小于 2500 克。

病因

LBW 可能是早产(通常定义为孕期小于 37 周)或婴儿胎龄较小(较缓慢的产前成长率)的结果,也可能是两者共同作用的结果。

后果

LBW 与生长缓慢、认知能力差、慢性疾病和后期残疾密切相关。LBW 是新生儿健康和生存的重要预测指标,并与婴儿和儿童死亡率的高风险紧密相关。

喂养低出生体重婴儿

喂养 LBW 婴儿会有一些挑战性。他们很容易进入无法获得足够食物的循环,身体逐渐变弱,最终结果导致难以进食。LBW 婴儿患营养不良的风险较大。此外,相较于足月婴儿,LBW 婴儿通常需要摄入更多热量密集型食物。

可能存在的问题:

  • 喂养过程中精力差。婴儿可能在喂养中睡着。
  • 婴儿在喂养过程中容易烦躁。
  • 在喂养过程中和喂养后,出现频繁咳嗽、作呕和吐出食物。
  • 婴儿在每次喂养中未摄取足够的配方奶。

可能的解决方法:

  • 在喂养过程中,部分婴儿容易发生缺氧,导致体力下降并使他们入睡。对于这些婴儿,在喂养过程中补充氧气可能会有所帮助。如果补充氧气不可行,则可通过增加喂养休息间隔让婴儿保持充足的大脑供养。如果您有补充氧气方面的需求,请向医生咨询。
  • 在周围环境活动过多时婴儿可能无法承受,导致婴儿以入睡的方式拒绝噪声、灯光、活动等扰动因素。可能的解决方法包括减少停留在灯光下,减少噪声,减少喂养时的移动等。如果有条件,可以在光线较暗和安静的地方喂养。
  • 提供更少的、更频繁的喂养以增加热量消耗。例如,婴儿可每 2 小时喂养一次,取代每 3 小时喂养一次,或半夜喂养一次(即使通常情况婴儿会一觉睡到天亮)。
  • 部分 LBW 婴儿可通过喂养浓缩的特制配方奶获得较好的营养;如果您感觉此方法可能会对您的孩子有益处,请联系儿科医师或儿科营养师。
  • 部分 LBW 婴儿可能在出生早期出现喂食困难。如果照料者持续努力营造愉快的喂养氛围,部分婴儿可恢复正常。强制喂食只会使问题变得更糟。
  • 牛奶从奶瓶流出的速度可能过快或过慢。更改奶嘴类型可能有助于解决此问题。
  • 与专门从事婴儿喂养的儿科言语治疗师合作,解决可能的问题。

阅读这篇来自世界卫生组织出版的文章,以了解更多低体重婴儿的最佳喂养方法。

» 返回页首

Low Birth Weight

Low birth weight (LBW) is defined as a birth weight of an infant of less than 2,500 grams (5 pounds 8 ounces).

Causes

LBW is either the result of preterm birth (commonly defined as younger than 37 weeks of gestation) or the infant being small for gestational age (a slow prenatal growth rate), or a combination of both.

Outcomes

LBW is closely associated with inhibited growth, poor cognitive development, and chronic diseases or disabilities later in life. LBW is an important predictor of newborn health and survival and is associated with a higher risk of infant and childhood mortality.

Feeding Low Birth Weight Babies

Feeding LBW babies can be challenging. They can easily fall into a cycle of not getting enough to eat, becoming weaker, and as a result becoming even harder to feed. LBW babies are at risk of malnutrition. In addition, LBW babies typically require more calorically dense feedings compared with full terms infants.

Potential Problems:

  • Poor energy for feeding. May fall asleep in the middle of a feeding.
  • Baby is easily upset during feeding.
  • Frequent coughing, gagging, and spitting up during or after feeding.
  • Baby does not take in enough formula at each feeding.

Potential Solutions:

  • Some infants’ oxygen levels become low during feedings, reducing their stamina and causing them to fall asleep. These infants might benefit from supplemental oxygen during feedings. If supplemental oxygen is not available, pace the baby by allowing feeding breaks to maintain adequate oxygen status. Talk to a physician about oxygen needs if this is a concern.
  • The baby might be overwhelmed by too much surrounding activity while feeding, causing her to fall asleep in order to avoid the noise, light, activity, etc. Possible solutions include decreasing exposure to light, noise, and movement while feeding. Feed the baby in a dark, quiet place if at all possible.
  • Provide smaller, more frequent feedings to increase calories consumed. For example, babies can be fed every 2 hours instead of every 3 hours, or can be given a feeding in the middle of the night, even if they usually sleep through the night.
  • Some LBW babies benefit from specialized formula that is concentrated; contact a pediatrician or pediatric dietitian if you feel this may help your child.
  • Some LBW infants associate feeding with traumatic feeding experiences early in their lives. Some infants can move beyond this stage with consistent efforts from caregivers to make feeding a pleasant time. Force feeding will only make the problem worse.
  • The flow of milk from the bottle may be too fast or too slow. A change of bottle nipple type may help with this problem.
  • Work with a pediatric speech therapist that specializes in infant feeding to addresses any concerns.

Learn more about optimal feeding for LBW infants in this publication from the World Health Organization.

» Back to Top