胎儿酒精综合症

胎儿酒精综合症(FAS)是由孕期酗酒而引起的先天缺陷。对胎儿的损害包括面部畸形、生长缓慢(体重、身长和头围)以及中枢神经系统损伤。孕期的头 8 周饮酒风险最高,不过在怀孕的任何阶段饮酒都有危害。

患有 FAS 的儿童会遭遇认知和行为障碍,如记忆力和理解能力差,还有多动症和攻击性。

患有 FAS 的婴儿达到营养和生长目标会有困难,包括几个原因:

  • 吮吸弱或吮吸不良
    • 婴儿通过奶嘴努力吮吸牛奶或婴儿配方奶
  • 易发怒
    • 婴儿“对抗”喂养或引发其它喂养困难
  • 发育不良
    • 低体重、身长或体重-身长

如果婴儿发育不良,就需要更多的卡路里来激发 追赶发育。如果孩子还伴有吮吸弱或易怒,满足卡路里需求以刺激所需的发育就可能很困难。

患有 FAS 的婴儿或幼童如有上述任何一种与营养有关的困难,一个综合性的喂养团队应该会有帮助。喂养团队由一名医生、护士、营养师及沟通人员和/或擅长喂养疗法的专业理疗师组成。这个团队有助于解决医疗和行为上的需求,并根据孩子的能力制定一个计划,帮助孩子尽可能好地发育和成长。

对于某些孩子,追赶发育可以通过高卡路里的婴幼儿配方实现,也可以通过在婴儿食物中增加卡路里达到。有时,让孩子接受吸管喂养以刺激适当的体重增长也很有必要。

许多患有 FAS 的孩子一生都在为发育而持续努力。如果干预良好,婴儿的正常体重-身长(或儿童和成人的体重指数)是能够达到的。不过,孩子的低身长-年龄和小头围可能会持续到成人阶段。

了解更多:

Fetal Alcohol Syndrome

Fetal Alcohol Syndrome (FAS) is a birth defect caused by heavy consumption of alcohol during pregnancy. Damage to the fetus includes facial deformities, poor growth (weight, length and head circumference), and impairment of the central nervous system. Drinking that occurs in the first 8 weeks of pregnancy poses the most risk, but alcohol consumption at any stage of pregnancy can be harmful.

Children with FAS can struggle with cognitive and behavioral difficulties such as poor memory and comprehension, as well as hyperactivity and aggressiveness.
Infants with FAS can struggle to reach nutrition and growth goals for several reasons including:

  • A poor or weak suck
    • infant struggles to suck milk or formula through a bottle nipple
  • Overall irritability
    • infant “fights” feedings or poses other mealtime challenges
  • Failure-to-thrive
    • low weight, length or weight-for-length

If an infant has failure-to-thrive, more calories are needed to stimulate catch-up growth. If the child also struggles with a weak suck or irritability, it can be difficult to meet calorie needs in order to stimulate desired growth.

If an infant or toddler with FAS has any of the above nutrition-related difficulties, a comprehensive feeding team can be helpful. Feeding teams consist of a doctor, nurse, dietitian, and a speech and/or occupational therapist that specialize in feeding therapy. The team can help address medical and behavioral needs and create a plan to help the child develop and grow to the best of his or her abilities.

For some children, catch-up growth can be achieved through using high calorie infant or toddler formulas as well as by adding calories to baby foods. Sometimes it is necessary for a child to receive tube feedings to stimulate appropriate weight gain and growth.

Children with FAS many continue to struggle with growth for a lifetime. With good intervention, a normal weight-for-length in infants (or Body Mass Index in children and adults) can be achieved. However, children may continue to have a low length-for-age and small head size well into adulthood.

Learn more: