先天性心脏病

先天性心脏病指的是孩子的心脏出生时就有缺陷,或进出心脏的血管有缺陷。这类缺陷分为两种。

  1. 正常流经心脏或心脏附近血管的血液堵塞
  2. 血液流经心脏,但方式异常。

几乎所有患有先天性心脏病 (CHD) 的婴儿和儿童都面临着营养风险。心脏畸形的类型和严重程度将决定营养缺失的程度,但大多数人或多或少都会产生一定程度的营养不良。许多患有 CHD 的婴儿在出生后前几天到数个月内可以接受矫正手术。良好的营养状况有助于婴幼儿获得良好的手术效果。有些婴儿在达到适当体重前,无法接收手术。许多患有 CHD 的婴儿手术后都会出现长期或短暂的喂食问题。这些婴儿往往容易疲倦,所以很难严格遵守喂食时间表。通常情况下,他们饿了也不会哭,因为他们实在太虚弱或疲倦,以至于哭不出来。

除此之外,机构中的一些婴儿或儿童无法接受本应在早期进行的手术治疗。鉴于这些因素,同时为了实现生长发育的长期目标,对患有 CHD 的婴儿和儿童提供最佳营养至关重要。

与健康的同龄婴儿和儿童相比,患有 CHD 的婴儿和儿童需要更多的能量。为了实现理想的生长状况,形成肌肉和脂肪积累,往往需要更多的热量。

下列因素导致了对额外热量的需求:

  • 新陈代谢增多: 与健康婴儿相比,患有 CHD 的婴儿需要更加耗费体力,才能呼吸并泵出血液满足全身需要。因此,仅仅是呼吸和心脏泵血就需要更多的热量。
  • 能量不足: 由于患有 CHD 的婴儿需要如此费力地携带氧气供给全身,因此他们极易疲劳而且无力进食。这类婴儿在短暂的进食后,便会拒绝进食,原因只是他们耗尽了全身的能量,而不是因为已经吃饱。
  • 胃肠道功能不健全: 一些婴儿在吸收所食食物的营养方面存在问题。原因是他们肠道血管的供氧不足,或是因为他们服用的药物降低了肠道对食物的吸收功能。由于同样的原因,患有 CHD 的婴儿,食物在其胃部和肠道的移动速度缓慢。这会导致食物逆流,进而引起摄入能力下降或出现抵制进食的情况。对于心脏膨大的婴儿,其胃部较小,这会导致过早地出现饱胀感。

满足营养需求

需要采取特殊方式来满足婴幼儿的热量需求。包括以下一种方式或所有方式:

食物

对于婴儿来说,增加热量的方法通常是食用高热量的婴儿配方食品。常规方法准备的标准婴儿配方食品每盎司可提供 20 卡路里的热量。患有 CHD 的婴儿通常需要每盎司含 24-30 卡路里热量的配方食品来满足生长发育的需要。如果您看护的婴儿体重没有正常增加,或个头增大不明显,儿科医生或儿科营养师可针对婴儿制定适当的食谱,以便获得浓度较高的婴儿配方。在没有专业人员提供食谱的情况下,切勿尝试浓缩配方。

对于患有 CHD 的幼儿,有时,即便已接受了所有矫正手术,对能量的需求仍然很高。成功喂养幼儿的第一步是提供结构合理的餐食和零食。含热量的饮料(果汁和牛奶)只应在规定的用餐和零食时间饮用。

除提供均衡膳食外,选用热量和蛋白质含量较高的食物有助于增加幼儿的热量和蛋白质摄入。此处是可添加到儿童膳食中热量和蛋白质含量较高的食物列表。为了提供更多的热量,推荐饮用高热量饮料或高热量牛奶。应在规定的吃饭或零食时间代替牛奶饮用。

喂养途径

通过从口喂养有时无法满足婴幼儿的营养需要,因此,医疗小组可能会建议使用饲管进行喂养。饲管可以暂时使用(通过鼻腔通道),也可在较长的一段时间使用(通过腹壁直接插入胃部)。对于患有 CHD 的儿童来说,饲管喂养是满足其营养需要的最佳方式。对于能够口食的食物,仍可以从口摄入,然后可以从饲管获取补充营养。当他们生病或处于术后恢复阶段时,可以获得足够的营养,从而缩短身体恢复所用时间。

时间表

患有 CHD 的婴幼儿需要频繁喂食,以满足其能量需求。如果您看护的婴儿通常喂食间隔为 3-4 小时,但不能满足体重目标或重量增加不正常,应减少每次喂食的食量,并将喂食间隔调整为 2 小时。例如,如果婴儿每 3 个小时的喂食量为 4 盎司(一天 8 次,共 32 盎司),应改为每 2 个小时喂食一次,每次 3 盎司(一天 11-12 次,供 33-36 盎司)(1盎司 = 28.350 克)。有时,尽管婴儿整晚都在睡觉,但仍需要在半夜时分喂食一次。然而,对患有 CHD 的婴儿来说,喂食间隔不应超过 30 分钟,如果间隔时间过长,热量的消耗量大于摄入量,婴儿可能发生危险。为患有 CHD 的儿童制定喂食时间表之前,应咨询营养学家。

频繁喂食对幼儿也有好处。建议一日三餐,再加三次零食。应按照时间表时间喂食,时间间隔至少为 2-3 小时。如果儿童摄入食物和饮料(水除外)的时间间隔小于该数值,会抑制儿童的食欲,减少热量的整体摄入。

较大婴儿或幼儿的喂食时间表可参照下表:

早 8 点 — 早餐

早 10 点 — 上午零食

中午 12 点 — 午餐

下午 3 点 — 下午零食

晚 6 点 — 晚餐

晚 8 点 — 晚间加餐。

更多信息:

Congenital Heart Disease

Congenital heart disease is the name for any condition where a child’s heart has a defect in the way it, or the vessels that go in and out of it, are formed. There are two types of defects.

  1. Blood is prevented from flowing normally through the heart or the vessels near it, or
  2. Blood flows through the heart, but in an abnormal way.

Nearly all infants and children with congenital heart disease (CHD) are at nutritional risk. The type and severity of the cardiac malformation will determine the extent of nutritional compromise, but most will experience some degree of nutritional deficit. Many infants with CHD receive corrective surgery in the first days to months of life. Infants who have a good nutritional status improve their chances of a favorable surgical outcome. Some infants will not be able to receive their surgery until they are at an appropriate weight. Many infants with CHD will have long term or transient feeding issues after surgery. These infants tend to get tired easily, so they should be on a tight feeding schedule. Often, they will not cry when they are hungry because they are just too weak or tired to cry.

Additionally, some infants or children living in institutions never receive the surgery that should have occurred early on. For these reasons, as well as for meeting long term growth and developmental goals, optimal nutrition for infants and children with CHD is of utmost importance.

Infants and children with CHD have increased energy needs compared to healthy infants and children of the same age. Often, more calories are required for desirable growth, muscle and fat accumulation to occur.

The following factors contribute to these increased needs:

  • Increased Metabolism: Infants with CHD have to work harder than healthy infants to breathe and to pump blood throughout their bodies. Therefore they burn more calories simply by breathing and pumping their blood.
  • Decreased Energy: Because they have to work so hard to supply their bodies with oxygen, infants with CHD tire easily and have less strength for eating. A baby may stop eating after only a short time and this may be due simply to the baby using up all of its available energy, not because he/she is full.
  • Gastrointestinal Compromise: Some infants have difficulty absorbing nutrients from food they eat. This is because the blood vessels in their intestinal tract do not receive enough oxygen, or because they are taking medications that decrease the gut’s ability to absorb food. For the same reason, infants with CHD can have slow movement of food through their stomach and intestines. This can lead to reflux, which can lead to poor intake or resistance to feeding. For infants with an enlarged heart, their stomach size may be decreased, which can lead to an early sense of fullness.

Meeting Nutritional Needs

Special measures will most likely be taken to meet an infant or toddler’s caloric needs. These can include one or all of the following:

Food

For infants, the increased caloric need often comes in the form of providing high calorie infant formula. Standard preparations of routine infant formulas provide 20 calories/ounce. Infants with CHD often require 24-30 calories/ounce infant formula to accomplish desired growth. If an infant in your care is not gaining weight properly, or is struggling to meet his or her volume goals, a pediatrician or a pediatric dietitian can provide an appropriate recipe for concentrated infant formula. Do not attempt to concentrate the formula without a recipe provided by a professional.

For toddlers with CHD, energy needs continue to be high, sometimes even after they receive all of their corrective surgeries. The first step of successfully feeding any toddler is to provide structured meals and snacks. Calorie-containing beverages (juices, milk) should be limited to scheduled meal and snack times.

In addition to providing a balanced diet, the use of high calorie and high protein foods can help to increase a toddler’s calorie and protein intake. Here is a list of high calorie and protein foods that can be added to your child’s diet. High calorie drinks or high calorie milks may be recommended to provide additional calories. These should be offered in place of milk at a scheduled meal or snack.

Feeding Route

Sometimes, it is not possible for an infant or toddler to meet all of her nutritional needs by mouth and her medical team may recommend the placement of a feeding tube. Feeding tubes can be temporary (through the nasal passage) or more permanent (directly into the stomach through the abdominal wall). Feeding tubes can be a wonderful way for children with CHD to meet their nutritional needs. They can be allowed to eat orally what they are able to, and then receive supplemental feedings through their feeding tubes. When they are ill or recovering from surgery, they are able to receive adequate nutrition, which will improve recovery time.

Schedule

Infants and toddlers with CHD may require frequent feedings to meet their energy needs. If an infant in your care usually eats every 3-4 hours but is not able to meet her volume goal, or is not gaining appropriate weight, it may help to decrease the amount given at each feeding and increase feedings to every 2 hours. For example, if an infant is supposed to eat 4 ounces every 3 hours (8 times a day for a total of 32 ounces/day), it may help to change to 3 ounces every 2 hours (11-12 times a day for a total of 33-36 ounces). Sometimes it is necessary to provide a feeding in the middle of the night, even if the infant is sleeping through the night. However, it is important to limit the length of each feeding to no more than 30 minutes because infants with CHD are at risk of expending more than calories than they are taking in if a feeding is prolonged. A dietitian should be consulted to customize a feeding schedule for a child with CHD.

Toddlers will also benefit from frequent meals and snacks. A recommended schedule would be 3 meals and 3 snacks. Feeding times should occur at scheduled times and should be spaced out by at least 2-3 hours. If a child eats or drinks foods and beverages (other than water) more frequently than this, it can actually curb appetite and result in decreased caloric intake overall.

An example feeding schedule for an older infant or toddler could be as follows:

8am- breakfast
10am- mid-morning snack
12pm- lunch
3pm- afternoon snack
6pm- dinner
8pm- bedtime snack.

Learn more: