过渡期饮食:早期婴儿到幼儿

当婴儿生长和发育成幼儿时,他们对营养的需求也随之发生变化。随着身长和体重的增加,他们对热量和营养素的需求也随之增加。从发育角度来说,婴儿也逐渐获得自主进食和适应不同食物的能力。从仅摄入婴儿配方奶到仅摄入固体食物的过渡期往往具有一定挑战性。了解更多关于以下主题的信息:

介绍辅食

什么是辅食?

辅食是指婴儿在 6 个月大时开始引入到日常饮食中的食物。在此年龄段,婴儿需要更多的营养素,而这些营养素单靠配方奶粉是不足够的。婴儿满 6 个月后依然应当喂养配方奶,但同时他们也需要其他的食物。

在婴儿满 6 个月后,每天应喂食 4-5 餐,外加每天 1-2 次点心。“一餐”可以是配方奶和/或其他食物。照料者应当特别注意婴儿的饥饿反应,以判断他/她有多饿。喂食量应取决于每位婴儿的状况,以及所提供食物的营养密集度。

当婴儿逐渐长大,他/她就可以开始吃更多种类的食物:

  • 6 个月:浓汤状食物、捣烂的泥状食物、半固态食物
  • 8 个月:“手抓食物”(婴儿可以自主进食的食物)
  • 12 个月:一般来说,与成年人吃相同的食物(需要切成小块以防止窒息)

食物的营养素成分

最佳方法是为婴儿提供一系列辅食以满足其营养需求。以下列出了重要的食物群和它们所能提供给婴儿的营养素:

  • 肉、家禽、鱼或蛋
    • 锌、铁
  • 乳制品
    • 钙、脂肪
  • 谷物和豆类
    • 蛋白质、碳水化合物
  • 水果和蔬菜(特别是暗色水果蔬菜)
    • 维生素 A、B、B6 和 C;叶酸
  • 坚果和种子
    • 脂肪
  • 清洁饮用水

辅食的重要性

婴幼儿的快速生长发育需要营养充足的饮食,以避免生长和健康问题,和发育迟缓。如果婴儿没有摄入足够的辅食,即便持续喂养配方奶,也可能造成发育迟缓。有益健康的各类食物还可防止婴儿患疾病和感染。

辅食的一致性是婴幼儿发育的重要因素。更浓稠、更为固态的食物往往含有更多的热量和营养素。适时的引入“块状”食物可以减少婴儿在后期可能出现的喂养方案症状。经验法则是:按年龄逐渐增加固体食物的数量。虽然喂食半固体食物会需要更多的时间,但这对儿童的发育至关重要。

喂养辅食的挑战

某些时候为婴儿引入新食物可能会比较困难。如果婴儿拒绝吃某些食物,不要灰心。许多儿童需要接触一类食物多次之后才会开始接收它。如果婴儿看起来对食物不感兴趣,试着在喂养过程中分散他们的注意力。鼓励婴儿吃食物但不要用强迫的方式。

如果婴儿生病,他们的食欲可能会降低。此时应提供柔软、开胃以及他们喜爱的食物来使他们进食。生病期间还需要补充额外的水分。婴儿康复后,他/她需要比平时更多的热量,因此需要增加喂食量或喂养频率。

» 返回页首

断奶

什么是断奶?

断奶是指停止奶瓶喂养婴儿配方奶,而专为喂养食物。断奶是一个循序渐进的过程,需要照料者足够的耐心。

备注:世界卫生组织未提供从婴儿配方奶断奶的指导方法。但他们提供了换乳期(停喝母乳)指导方法向非母乳喂养儿童引入辅食的指导方法

儿童应何时断奶?

婴儿在约 6 个月大时已可尝试使用水杯引用液体。年龄在 12-18 个月的儿童可完全断奶。在断奶过程初期,儿童可能可以拿住水杯喝水,但他们无法从一杯水中消耗足够的热量。

当婴儿出现以下状况时即可开始断奶:

  • 可自行坐起
  • 可吃从汤匙喂来的食物
  • 开始表现对固体食物的兴趣

如何帮助儿童断奶?

  • 让 3-6 个月大的儿童握住空水杯。这将让他们熟悉握住水杯的感觉。
  • 当儿童成长到 8-10 个月大时,在日常喂食时给他们一只吸管杯,用于取代奶瓶。一周期间,每天相同的喂食时段给他们一只吸管杯。
  • 每一周,每天增加一次提供吸管杯的喂食时段,慢慢减少他/她使用奶瓶的次数。
  • 在喂养时段帮助儿童握住水杯,并让少量液体流进嘴中。慢慢地喂孩子。
  • 只在上述操作坚持完成后,断奶才会成功。如果您在特定的喂食时段为儿童提供水杯,那么就不要在此时段换回奶瓶。
  • 当儿童开始从食物和饮料中消耗与配方奶粉相同数量的热量时,断奶即完成。

我该在儿童的水杯中放什么?

年龄超过 12 个月的儿童可以喝全脂牛奶。请特别注意不要给未满 12 个月的儿童提供牛奶。在初期,可将全脂牛奶作为配方奶的一部分进行逐步引入。为儿童提供全脂牛奶很重要,因为他们需要全脂牛奶中的脂肪以促进生长发育。

断奶的重要性

帮助儿童断奶、放弃奶瓶,可帮助他们开发自身在长大后会使用的重要进食技能。当儿童学会从开口水杯中喝水时,他们同样学会了促进语言发展的技能。如果儿童使用奶瓶时间过长,他们可能会出现蛀牙或牙齿发育不当的问题。

需特别注意的是,不要过早让婴儿断奶。如果儿童尚无法使用水杯喝水,他/她将无法消耗足够的热量。如果儿童摄入的热量降低,则可能导致儿童体重减轻,这段处于生长发育期的儿童来说非常危险。

断奶提示

  • 帮助断奶的喂养时间应保持一致。如果在某个喂养时间使用的水杯,那么应当在每一天相同的喂养时间使用水杯,而不可换回奶瓶。
  • 在喂食时段细心观察儿童的状况。
  • 做个榜样,让儿童看您如何从开口水杯中喝水。幼儿善于模仿成人,因此这可能会加速断奶过程。

» 返回页首

Transition Diet: Early Infant to Young Child

As infants grow and develop into young children, their nutritional needs change. As length and weight increases, so too does the need for calories and nutrients. Developmentally, infants also gradually gain the ability to self-feed and handle different foods. The transition from formula-only to solid food can often be challenging. Read more to learn about:

Introduction of Complementary Foods

What are Complementary Foods?

Complementary foods are foods introduced into an infant’s diet beginning at 6 months of age. At this age an infant requires more nutrients than what can be obtained by formula alone. Infants should still be fed formula after 6 months of age, but they will also need other foods.

At 6 months of age, an infant should be fed 4-5 meals per day, plus 1-2 snacks per day. A “meal” can be formula and/or other foods. Caregivers should pay attention to an infant’s hunger cues in order to decide how hungry he or she is. The amount of food needed will depend on the individual infant and on the nutrient density of the provided food.

As an infant gets older, he or she can start to eat a greater variety of foods:

  • 6 months: pureed, mashed, and semi-solid foods
  • 8 months: “finger foods” (foods the infant can feed to him-or herself)
  • 12 months: generally, the same foods as adults (cut into small pieces to prevent choking)

Nutrient content of foods

It is best to provide infants with a range of complementary foods in order to meet nutrient needs. The following are some important food groups and the nutrients they provide to infants:

  • Meat, poultry, fish or eggs
    • Zinc, iron
  • Dairy products
    • Calcium, fat
  • Grains and legumes
    • Protein, carbohydrate
  • Fruits and vegetables (especially those with dark colors)
    • Vitamins A, B, B6, and C; folate
  • Nuts and seeds
    • Fat
  • Clean drinking water

Importance of Complementary Foods

Infants and young children are growing rapidly and require a nutritionally adequate diet in order to avoid growth, health, and developmental delays. Infants will experience stunted growth if they do not receive adequate complementary foods, even if they are still being fed formula. A healthy variety of foods also prevents infant illness and infection.

The consistency of complementary foods is an important factor in infant and young child development. Thicker, more solid foods tend to contain more calories and nutrients. Proper timing of introducing “lumpy” foods can reduce the risk of a child developing feeding aversions later in life. As a rule of thumb, gradually increase the solidity of food with age. While more time-consuming than feeding semi-solid foods, it is important for optimal child development.

Challenges with Complementary Feeding

Sometimes it can be difficult to introduce new foods to an infant. Do not become discouraged if an infant refuses certain foods. Many children need to be exposed to a food several times before they will accept it. If an infant seems uninterested in foods, try to reduce distractions during feeding times. Encourage infants but do not force them to eat.

During illness, an infant’s appetite may be reduced. Provide soft, appetizing, favorite foods to an infant to encourage eating. Extra fluids are also necessary during illness. After an infant has recovered from illness, he or she will require more calories than usual, so increase feeding amount or frequency.

» Back to Top

Weaning from Bottle

What is weaning?

Weaning is the discontinuation of bottle-feeding by replacing infant formula with food. Weaning is a gradual process that requires patience on the part of caregivers.

NOTE: The World Health Organization does not have specific guidelines for weaning from infant formula. However, they do provide guidelines for weaning from breast milk and guidelines for introducing complimentary foods in non-breastfed children.

When is a child ready to be weaned?

A child is ready to try drinking from a cup at about 6 months of age. Between 12 and 18 months of age a child can be completely weaned off a bottle. Early in the weaning process a child may be able to hold and drink from a cup, but they will not be able to consume enough calories from a cup alone.

A child is ready to be weaned from a bottle when they:

  • can sit up by themselves
  • can eat from a spoon
  • start showing interest in solid foods

How to wean a child off a bottle

  • Let a child hold an empty cup at 3 to 6 months of age. This will allow them to become familiar with holding a cup.
  • When a child is 8 to 10 months, give them a sipper cup instead of a bottle during one of their daily feedings. For one week, give them a sipper cup at this same feeding time every day.
  • Every week, give the child a sipper cup at one additional feeding per day, slowly decreasing the number of bottles he or she uses.
  • Help the child during feeding times by helping him or her hold the cup and tipping a small amount of liquid into his or her mouth. Feed the child slowly.
  • Weaning is only successful if done consistently. Once you have given a child a cup at a certain feeding, do not switch back to a bottle at this feeding.
  • Weaning is complete when the child is consuming the same amount of calories from foods and beverages that they were previously consuming from formula.

What should I put in the child’s cup?

A child older than 12 months of age may drink whole cow milk. Do NOT give cow milk to children younger than 12 months of age. At first, mix whole cow milk with part formula to introduce the cows’ milk gradually. It is important to give whole cow milk because young children need the fat in whole milk for growth and development.

Importance of Weaning

Weaning children from bottles allows them to develop important feeding skills that they will use as they grow up. When children learn to drink from open cups they also learn skills that encourage speech development. If children use bottles for too long, they can suffer from tooth decay or improper tooth development.

It is important not to wean an infant from a bottle too early. If a child is incapable of drinking from a cup, he or she will not be able to consume enough calories. If a child’s calorie intake drops, the child may fail to gain weight, which is a dangerous situation for a growing child.

Tips for weaning

  • Be consistent with the child’s feeding schedule. Once a cup is introduced at a mealtime, use a cup at that same mealtime every day and do not go back to using a bottle at that mealtime.
  • Be attentive to the child during feeding time.
  • Be a role model and let the child watch you drink from an open cup. Young children mimic adults, so this may encourage the weaning process.

» Back to Top