喂养最佳实践(按年龄划分)

0-6 个月

0-6 月大的婴儿对营养和基于他们所处发育阶段的喂养有着特殊要求。喂养婴儿的许多方面直接影响正常的生长发育,例如:

响应式喂养

响应式喂养是当婴儿表现出饥饿状态时喂养的一种喂养方法,而非强制或按照时间表进行喂食。此方法可能对同时照料多个婴儿的照料者来说颇具挑战性。虽然此方法可能对照料者带来压力,但实施响应式喂养可确保婴儿获得适当的营养,有助于生长和发育。

照料者应当观察并回应婴儿的饥饿暗示。处于饥饿状态的婴儿可能会有以下表现:

  • 醒来不断摇头
  • 吮吸拳头
  • 哭闹
  • 表现出要哭出的表情

同样的,照料者应当回应婴儿的饱腹暗示。在婴儿表现出饱腹行为前应持续喂养。绝不要强迫婴儿喝完奶瓶中所有的奶。处于饱腹状态的婴儿会有以下表现:

  • 嘴唇紧闭
  • 吮吸减少
  • 吐出奶嘴
  • 转向远离奶嘴

» 返回页首

奶瓶喂养

孤儿院里 0-6 个月大的婴儿应使用奶瓶喂养。奶瓶喂养是婴儿发育的重要组成部分。在喂养过程中,婴儿通过与照料者的互动,可开发其与他人建立社交和情感联系的能力。

照料者应当在喂养时怀抱婴儿,并且同一时间只喂养一名婴儿。怀抱婴儿可让照料者与婴儿进行眼神交流,并可仔细观察饱腹暗示(婴儿吃饱后)。此外,研究表明,婴儿需要被怀抱以促进其社交能力的开发。

不应使用奶瓶支撑器喂养,或在婴儿床中使用奶瓶。使用奶瓶支撑器会增加婴儿吸入配方奶(窒息)的风险,还可导致长期问题,例如耳部感染、口腔正畸、言语障碍和心理问题。

许多被照料的婴儿有特殊需要或面部障碍,使得无法使用“常规”方式喂养。要了解更多关于此类特定的喂养挑战,请单击这里

食物类型

母乳是婴儿最佳的营养来源。世界卫生组织 (WHO) 推荐婴儿在出生的前六个月使用纯母乳喂养。然而对于孤儿来说,无法喂养母乳。在无法获得母乳的情况下,可使用铁强化配方奶作为替代品。单击这里了解有关配方奶喂养的更多信息

不应向未满 6 个月的婴儿提供果汁。果汁可能引起蛀牙、腹痛和腹胀,以及腹泻等问题。此外,0-6 个月大的儿童不应喂养牛奶。牛奶对婴儿来说很难笑话,并无法提供早期发育所必须的适量营养素。

固体食物不应在婴儿未满 6 个月前引入。过早地引入固体食物可能导致婴儿出现以下问题:

  • 窒息
  • 配方奶摄入不足
  • 消化系统尚未有能力消化固体食物
  • 患贫血(缺铁)的风险增加
  • 患湿疹(皮肤疾病)的风险增加
  • 发生食物过敏的风险增加
  • 睡眠中断

» 返回页首

喂食量和喂养频率

婴儿对能量的需求随着生长而不断增加。在 0-6 个月间,婴儿每天需要约 450-650 千卡的热量。一般来说,处于此年龄段的婴儿应当按照他们对于饥饿和饱腹的暗示来喂养,这里提供部分通用的配方奶喂养指导方法:

0-2 个月:

  • 每天喂养 6-10 次
  • 每瓶配方奶 60-120 毫升
  • 每天总计喂养 700-800 毫升

3-6 个月:

  • 每天喂养 6-7 次
  • 每瓶配方奶 150-180 毫升
  • 每天至多喂养 1050 毫升

您如何了解每天婴儿已饮用足够的配方奶?

  • 儿童每天消耗 6-7 片尿布
  • 儿童体重持续增加
  • 儿童自己醒来要求喂食

» 返回页首

6-12 个月

随着婴儿的生长和发育,他们的需求会有所变化:

喂养技巧

当喂养年龄较大的婴儿时,仍可使用响应式喂养技巧。饥饿暗示可能包括:

  • 兴奋的晃动胳膊和腿
  • 向食物伸头
  • 把手伸向食物
  • 看到食物时张口
  • 哭闹

6-12 个月大的婴儿会更积极地配合喂养,并能接受固体食物。可开始进食固体食物的婴儿能够:

  • 无需帮助即可坐起
  • 保持头部抬起
  • 从汤匙吃食物并吞咽
  • 拒绝食物时把头转开

在此年龄段,婴儿可能已足够强壮能握住他们自己的奶瓶,此时应开始实时断奶。要了解关于断奶的信息,请单击这里。当婴儿开始处于从液态食物向固态食物的过渡期时,他们也可能开始自主进食。

这里提供一些提示,帮助年龄较大的婴儿成为成功的“食客”:

  • 选择适合儿童年龄和进食能力的食物
  • 6-8 个月:浓汤状食物
  • 9-11 个月:泥状食物、弄碎的食物和软食
  • 12 个月和更大:切碎的和一口大小的手抓食物
  • 确保儿童在喂养时保持坐起状态。使用高脚椅最佳。
  • 在婴儿进食时切勿离开。
  • 轻声交谈并鼓励婴儿进食。进行眼神交流。

» 返回页首

食物类型

在此期间,由于生长速度较快,婴儿患营养不良的风险会增加。在此年龄段,婴儿无法只从配方奶粉中获取所有生长发育所必需的营养素。这是开始引入辅食的关键时间。辅食是营养丰富的固体食物,可从婴儿 6 个月左右作为配方奶的辅助食物开始喂养。为对儿童发育起到最佳效果,根据儿童年龄的增长逐步增加固体食物数量是非常重要的。根据目前的研究结果,推迟引入“块状”食物超过 10 个月将增加后期出现喂养困难的风险。

6-12 个月大的婴儿不应饮用牛奶。但可为此年龄段的婴儿引入果汁。果汁应该使用水杯盛装(绝不要使用奶瓶),每天应限量 120 毫升。

喂食量和喂养频率

6-12 个月大的婴儿必须摄入足够的能量(千卡)以保证正常的生长和发育。WHO 推荐年龄为 6-8 个月的婴儿每天摄入 600 千卡,9-11 个月每天摄入 700 千卡,12-23 个月每天摄入 900 千卡。此年龄段的婴儿平均每天应喂食 4-5 次,并附加每天 1-2 次点心。喂食量和喂食频率最终应取决于婴儿个体,但一般的喂养建议包括:

6-8 个月

  • 辅食:每天 2-3 次
  • 配方奶:每天 700-1060 毫升

9-12 个月

  • 辅食:每天 3-4 次
  • 配方奶:每天 530-880 毫升

请参阅断奶辅食章节了解更多关于此年龄段婴儿饮食的建议。

» 返回页首

12-24 个月

12-24 个月大的儿童对食物的兴趣减退是正常现象。他们的生长发育正在减缓,因此食欲会有所减退。幼儿在喂养过程中注意力容易分散,对其他东西的兴趣大过进食。要使幼儿在吃饭时专心,需要了解更多信息:

喂养技巧

12-24 个月大的儿童注意力集中时间较短,还可能挑食。因此,喂养过程中的耐心和灵活性显得至关重要。对于幼儿,应试着不要过于严格地执行喂养时间表。相反地,需要注意幼儿的饥饿暗示,并当需要时在正餐间提供点心。

要防止窒息,喂养 12-24 个月大的儿童时需要让他们坐下来,并在成人监护下喂养。如果儿童边吃边走,很容易造成窒息。儿童会模仿成人,因此家长们需要师范正确的饮食习惯,做个好榜样。对于幼儿来说,他们看到成人吃他们不熟悉的食物时,也更愿意试试看。

» 返回页首

食物类型

一般来说,12-24 个月大的儿童能够与成年人吃相同的食物。但他们可能会非常挑食。对于幼儿来说,只吃特定种类的食物而拒绝其他一切食物,是完全正常的。这可能会给照料者带来压力。但喂养过程中保持耐心并鼓励儿童用餐是非常重要的。您越坚持让儿童吃特定的食物,就越有可能造成儿童对此类食物的反感。与其与儿童打食物仗,倒不如在每餐提供多种健康食物,让幼儿自行选择。了解更多关于适合儿童的健康食物选择

奶制品是幼儿饮食的重要组成部分。它能够提供钙和维生素 D,帮助强健骨骼。推荐幼儿饮用全脂奶粉,以提供大脑发育所必需的脂肪。

但是,饮用过多的牛奶会妨碍身体对铁的吸收,并导致铁缺乏。要防止缺铁,需确保儿童膳食均衡,方法是:

  • 每天限制牛奶摄入量为 16-24 盎司
  • 提供铁强化型谷物食品
  • 提供富含铁的食物,例如肉、家禽、鱼和豆类。
  • 提供富含铁的食物以及富含维生素 C 的食物

» 返回页首

喂食量和喂养频率

12-24 个月大的儿童,为确保正常生长发育,每天需摄入 1000-1400 千卡的热量(取决于年龄、体型和活动水平)。幼儿平均每天三餐,并附加每天 1-2 次的点心供应。幼儿的餐食分量应远少于成人份量 – 约为成人份量的 ¼。提供的食物量最终取决于幼儿个体,但一般的建议包括:

  • 每天从牛奶中摄入 300-450 千卡
  • 每天从果汁中摄入 60-90 千卡
  • 每天从桌上/固体食物中摄入 550-950 千卡:
  • 6 份谷物
  • 3 份蔬菜
  • 2 份水果
  • 2 份奶制品
  • 2 份肉类和蛋白质

» 返回页首

儿童

即将推出!

» 返回页首

Feeding Best Practices by Age

0-6 Months

Infants 0-6 months old have specific needs for nutrition and feeding based on their stage of development. Many aspects of feeding infants directly impact proper growth and development, such as:

Responsive Feeding

Responsive feeding is a technique in which infants are fed when they express hunger, instead of being forced to keep to a feeding schedule. This can be challenging for caregivers who provide care for several infants at one time. While it may be stressful for caregivers, practicing responsive feeding ensures infants are receiving appropriate nourishment for growth and development.

Caregivers should watch for and respond to an infant’s cues for hunger. An infant who is hungry may:

  • Wake and toss
  • Suck on fist
  • Cry and fuss
  • Appear as though they may cry

Similarly, caregivers should be responsive to an infant’s cues for satiety. Infants should be fed until they indicate they are full. Never force an infant to finish the bottle. Signs of satiety or fullness include:

  • Sealing lips together
  • Decrease in sucking
  • Spitting out the nipple
  • Turning away from the bottle

» Back to Top

Bottle Feeding

Infants 0-6 months in care at an orphanage should be fed by bottle. Bottle feeding is an important part of an infant’s development. It is through the interaction with a caregiver during feeding that an infant develops its ability to make social and emotional connections to other people.

Caregivers should hold infants while feeding and feed only one infant at a time. Holding infants allows caregivers to make eye contact and watch carefully for signs of satiety (being full). Additionally, research shows that infants need to be held for proper social development.

Bottles should never be propped for feeding, nor should bottles be allowed in cribs. Infants are at risk for aspirating (choking) on the formula if the bottles are propped. Bottle propping may also lead to long-term problems such as ear infections, orthodontic problems, speech disorders and psychological problems.

Many infants in care have special needs or facial deformities which prevent them from feeding in a “normal” way. To learn more about these specific feeding challenges, click here.

Type of Food

Breast milk is considered to be the best source of nutrition for infants. The World Health Organization (WHO) recommends that infants be exclusively breast-fed for the first six months. However, for orphaned infants, breast milk is not an option. In situations where breast milk is not available, an iron-fortified formula can be used as a substitute. Click here to learn more about formula feeding.

Infants under 6 month of age should not be offered fruit juice. It can contribute to problems such as tooth decay, abdominal pain and bloating, and diarrhea. Additionally, cow milk should not be fed to infants 0-6 months old. Cow milk is difficult for infants to digest and does not provide appropriate amounts of nutrients necessary for early development.

Solid foods should not be introduced to infants before 6 months of age. Introducing solid foods too early may lead to the following problems in infants:

  • Choking
  • May not drink enough formula
  • Digestive system not ready to digest solid foods
  • Increased risk of anemia (low iron)
  • Increased risk of eczema (skin disorder)
  • Increased risk of developing food allergies
  • Disrupted sleep

» Back to Top

Amount and Frequency

Infants’ energy requirements gradually increase as they grow. Between 0 and 6 months, infants need approximately 450- 650 kilocalories per day. While infants this age should be fed based on their cues for hunger and satiety, here are some general formula-feeding guidelines:

0-2 months:

  • 6-10 feedings per day
  • 60-120 ml per bottle
  • 700-800 total ml per day

3-6 months:

  • 6-7 feedings per day
  • 150-180 ml per bottle
  • Up to 1050 total ml per day

How can you know if a baby is getting enough formula each day?

  • The child has 6-7 wet diapers daily
  • The child is consistently gaining weight
  • The child wakes up on its own to feed

» Back to Top

6-12 Months

As infants grow and develop their needs change regarding:

Feeding techniques

When feeding older infants, responsive feeding techniques can still be used. Cues for hunger include:

  • Excitedly moving arms and legs
  • Moving head toward food
  • Reaching toward food
  • Opening mouth when food is seen
  • Crying

Infants 6-12 months old are able to more actively participate in feeding, and are typically ready for solid foods. Infants ready for solid foods can:

  • Sit up without help
  • Hold head up
  • Take food from a spoon and swallow it
  • Turn head to refuse food

At this age, infants may be strong enough to hold their own bottles, and should begin to be weaned from bottles. To learn about weaning, click here. As they transition from liquid to solid foods, infants of this age may also begin to feed themselves.

Here are a few tips to help older infants become successful eaters:

  • Choose foods that are age and ability appropriate
  • 6-8 months: pureed foods
  • 9-11 months: mashed, ground and soft-textured foods
  • 12 months and older: coarsely chopped and bite-sized finger foods
  • Make sure the child is sitting-up while fed. High chairs are best.
  • Never leave the infant along while eating.
  • Quietly talk to and encourage the infant while eating. Make eye contact.

» Back to Top

Types of foods

During this time, infants are at an increased risk for malnutrition because they are growing so rapidly. At this age, infants cannot receive all the nutrients they need to grow and develop from formula alone. This is a critical time to begin introducing complimentary foods. Complimentary foods are nutrient-rich, solid foods that can be supplemented to formula starting around 6 months. For optimal child development, it is important to gradually increase the solidity of food as the child ages. According to current research, delaying the introduction of “lumpy” foods past 10 months may increase the risk of feeding difficulties later on.

Infants 6-12 months old should not receive cow milk. However, infants this age can be introduced to fruit juice. Fruit juice should be served in a cup – never in a bottle – and be limited to 120 ml per day.

Amount and Frequency

Infants between 6 and 12 months must have sufficient energy (kilocalorie) intake in order to grow and develop properly. The WHO recommends approximately 600 kcal/day for 6-8 months, 700 kcal/day for 9-11 months, and 900 kcal/day for 12-23 months. The average infant this age should have 4-5 feedings per day with additional snacks offered 1-2 times per day. Food amount and frequency will ultimately depend on the individual infant, but general recommendations include:

6-8 months

  • Complementary foods: 2-3 times/day
  • Formula: 700-1060 ml/day

9-12 months

  • Complementary foods: 3-4 times/day
  • Formula: 530-880 ml/day

Please see the sections on weaning and complimentary foods for additional recommendations related to diet for infants in this age range.

» Back to Top

12-24 months

It is natural for children 12-24 months old to have a decreased interest in food. Their growth is slowing down, and therefore they have a decreased appetite. Young children tend to be easily distracted during mealtimes, taking interest in things other than eating. To better engage young children in meal times, learn more about:

Feeding techniques

Children 12-24 months old usually have short attention spans and can be picky with their food choices. And so, it is important to be patient and flexible during mealtimes. Try not to enforce a strict feeding schedule with young children. Instead, pay attention to young children’s hunger cues and provide snacks in between meals when needed.

To prevent choking, only feed children 12-24 months old while they are sitting down and supervised by an adult. It is very easy for young children to choke if they eat while walking around. Young children imitate adults, so be a good role model by demonstrating good eating habits. Toddlers are more likely to try unfamiliar foods if they see adults eating them also.

» Back to Top

Types of Foods

Generally speaking, children 12-24 months old are able to eat the same foods as adults. However, they can be very picky about food choices. It is completely normal for young children to refuse all food or only eat certain types of food. This can become stressful for caregivers. However, it is important to be patient and supportive of children during mealtimes. The more you insist that young children eat a certain food, the more likely it is that they will refuse it. Instead of fighting about food, offer a variety of healthy foods at each meal and let young children decide what to eat. Learn more about healthy food choices for young children.

Milk is an important part of a toddler’s diet. It provides calcium and vitamin D to help build strong bones. It is recommended that young children drink whole milk to provide the fats necessary for brain development.

However, drinking too much milk can prevent the absorption of iron and lead to iron deficiency. To prevent iron deficiency, make sure young children are eating a balanced diet by:

  • Limiting milk intake to 16-24 ounces per day
  • Serving iron-fortified cereals
  • Serving iron-rich foods such as meat, poultry, fish and beans
  • Serving iron-rich foods along with foods containing Vitamin C

» Back to Top

Amount and Frequency

Depending on age, size and activity level, children 12-24 months old require 1000-1400 kilocalories per day to grow and develop properly. The average young child should have three meals per day with additional snacks offered 2-3 times per day. Serving sizes for young children are much smaller than adult serving sizes – about ¼ of what an adult eats. Food amount will ultimately depend on the individual, but general recommendations for young children include:

  • 300-450 kcal/day from milk
  • 60-90 kcal/day from fruit juice
  • 550-950 kcal/day table/solid foods:
  • 6 servings of grains
  • 3 servings of vegetables
  • 2 servings of fruit
  • 2 servings of dairy
  • 2 servings of meat and protein

» Back to Top

Children

Coming Soon!

» Back to Top