全球营养工作组

全球营养工作组 (GNWG) 是那些属于弱势群体并缺少父母关爱的孩子的营养及医疗方面的权威组织。成立 GNWG 的目的是为包括 OrphanNutrition.org 内容在内的项目开展所需资料提供指导。GNWG 由以下专家组成:


Jane Aronson, 硕士学位 (仅第一年)

自 1986 年起,Aronson 医生一直是一名儿科大夫。自 2000 年以来,她在曼哈顿单独开展儿科实践专攻收养医学,已评估超过 10,000 名被收养的孩子;因医疗任务的需要,她走访了俄罗斯、罗马尼亚、保加利亚、中国、越南、埃塞俄比亚、海地及拉丁美洲的多个孤儿院。

此外,Aronson 医生还担任康奈尔大学和哥伦比亚大学儿科的临床助理教授。

自 1997 年起,她通过自己的基金会,全球孤儿基金会(WWO),为致孤儿童提供直接的服务。WWO 通过派遣被称为“孤儿游骑兵”的大学生和医疗专业人员为孤儿提供支援。全球孤儿基金会自启动以来,已经向九个国家输送了 130 多名“孤儿游骑兵”。

Aronson 医生现在是两名收养男孩的家长。

» 返回顶部


Julian Davies,硕士学位

Davies 医生现任华盛顿大学收养医学中心的联席主任。他也是收养医学和发育问题在线资源 www.adoptmed.org 的一名编辑。他对收养的研究兴趣源于他多年扮小丑的经历,教学儿童戏剧,带领多批莫斯科孤儿参加夏令营。在他的临床实践中,他的研究方向是解决神经发育问题的综合性营养方法。

» 返回顶部


Michael Georgieff,硕士学位

Georgieff 医生为明尼苏达大学儿科及儿童发育教授,现任儿科系新生儿科主任及神经行为发育中心主任。他是早期营养和大脑发育的知名专家,曾经为美国儿科学会(the American Academy of Pediatrics)下属的营养和母乳喂养工作委员会及美国国立卫生研究院的营养研究部工作过。他现为美国儿科协会(the American Pediatric Society)和美国儿科学术团体(the Pediatric Academic Societies)会员。他撰写了 120 多篇有关新生儿和婴幼儿阶段营养和脑部发育方面的文章和专著章节,是美国儿科学会(AAP)营养手册的特约作者。他专注于胎儿/新生儿营养方面的研究,尤其是铁营养对脑部发育和认知神经功能的影响。他在国内外多次举办营养和脑部发育的讲座。

» 返回顶部


John Himes, 博士学位

Himes 医生担任明尼苏达大学公共卫生学院流行病与社区卫生部的教授。John是日内瓦世界卫生组织(WHO)营养专家组成员;为美国国立卫生研究院在咨询组从事人体测量和身体组成测量标准化和报告方面的工作;最近,他刚在咨询组完成日内瓦世卫组织营养健康部成长速度标准的制定工作。此外,他还是美国国立卫生研究院肾脏、营养、肥胖及糖尿病流行病研究部的成员。他是一名富有经验的研究人员,在儿童身体发育和成熟、发育和营养、营养状况人体测量评估和膳食评估领域都是闻名遐迩的专家。

» 返回顶部


Dana Johnson,博士学位

Johnson 医生是小儿科的儿科教授,同时也是明尼苏达大学全球儿科项目的正式成员,也是在这里,Johnson 医生于 1986 年与他人共同创立了国际收养项目。他的研究方向包括早期机构化对成长发育的影响及对国际收养儿童的发育成果。Johnson 医生受邀在世界各地讲演,他是 Evan B. Donaldson 收养研究所的高级研究员,撰写了 200 多篇学术文章。他曾获得国际儿童服务联合会的杰出贡献奖,北美儿童收养理事会的儿童之友奖,以及 Holt 国际的 Harry Hot 奖。他也是 JCICS 及半边天基金会的董事会成员。他还是三个孩子的父亲,其中包含一名从印度收养的儿子。

» 返回顶部


Charles A. Nelson III,博士学位

Nelson 医生是波士顿儿童医院小儿发育医学研究 Richard David Scott 教授及发育医学研究部主任。他还担任儿科和神经科学的教授以及哈佛医学院精神科的心理学教授;哈佛大学教育研究生院教师;哈佛公共卫生学院社会学、人类发展与健康系教授。同时,他也在哈佛儿童发育中心和哈佛心智、大脑和行为跨系规划(Harvard Interfaculty Initiative on Mind, Brain, and Behavior)指导委员会工作。他还被推选为美国心理学学会(American Psychological Society)、美国心理学协会(American Psychological Association)及美国科学发展协会会士;并被授予布加勒斯特大学(罗马尼亚)荣誉博士。作为国际上公认的发展认知神经科学领域的学术带头人,Nelson 医生在拓宽对婴儿和儿童阶段大脑和行为发育的科学理解方面已取得多项突破性成就。在过去二十年中,Nelson 医生把他主要的研究精力放在记忆的开发和神经基础;物体、面孔和情感的辨别和处理;神经可塑性等方面。他对早期经历如何影响发育过程有着浓厚的研究兴趣,在这个大背景下,他对正常发育的孩子和有神经发育障碍风险的孩子都进行了研究。他最近的工作重点是对有罹患自闭症风险的婴儿和遭受早期社会心理剥夺的儿童进行早期鉴别。

» 返回顶部


Kelly R. Walsh,博士学位,工商管理硕士,注册营养师

Kelly R. Walsh 医生是北美美赞臣营养品公司营养学的负责人。他还在印第安纳大学医学院兼职作为生物化学和分子生物学的助理教授。他在俄亥俄州立大学获得营养生物化学博士学位,并在那里接受注册营养师的培训。Kelly 还获得了埃文斯维尔大学的工商管理硕士学位。他是美国营养学会、加拿大营养学会、营养和饮食学会(前身为美国饮食协会)及实验生物医学学会的会员。Walsh 医生为婴幼儿和青少年营养杂志编委会工作,同时也是多份科学期刊的评审专家。他目前的研究方向包括早产儿营养和新陈代谢、乳汁生成的生理学和生物化学及膳食生物活性成分的生物利用度。Kelly 撰写了膳食生物活性成分的生物利用度和新陈代谢方面的多个出版物。他还是多种早产儿营养产品的发明人之一。

» 返回顶部

Global Nutrition Working Group

The Global Nutrition Working Group (GNWG) is a group of leading authorities on nutrition and medical care for vulnerable children and children living without parental care. The GNWG was formed to provide guidance on the development of program materials, including the content for OrphanNutrition.org. The GNWG is composed of the following experts (with more joining fall 2013):



Jane Aronson, MD (year one only)

Dr. Aronson has been a pediatrician since 1986. She has a solo pediatric practice in Manhattan specializing in adoption medicine since 2000 and has evaluated well over 10,000 adopted children; she has traveled to orphanages in Russia, Romania, Bulgaria, China, Vietnam, Ethiopia, Haiti and Latin America while on medical missions.

In addition, Dr. Aronson is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at Cornell University and Columbia University.

Since 1997, she has provided direct services to orphaned children through her foundation, Worldwide Orphans Foundation (WWO). WWO began its work by commissioning university students and healthcare professionals, called “Orphan Rangers,” to support orphans. Since its inception, WWO has sent more than 130 Orphan Rangers to nine countries.

Dr. Aronson is the parent of two sons through adoption.

» Back to Top



Julian Davies, MD

Dr. Davies is the co-director of the Center for Adoption Medicine at the University of Washington. He is also the editor of www.adoptmed.org, an online resource for medical and developmental issues in adoption. His interest in adoption comes from his years clowning, teaching children’s theater, and leading summer camps with groups of Moscow orphans. In his clinical practice, he has an interest in integrative and nutritional approaches to neuro-developmental issues.

» Back to Top



Michael Georgieff, MD

Dr. Georgieff is a Professor of Pediatrics and Child Development at the University of Minnesota where he is Head of the Section of Neonatology in the Department of Pediatrics, and Director of the Center on Neurobehavioral Development. He is a renowned expert on early nutrition and the brain having served on the Committee on Nutrition and the Breastfeeding Work Group for the American Academy of Pediatrics and on the Nutrition Study Section for the National Institutes of Health. He is a member of the American Pediatric Society and the Pediatric Academic Societies. He has written over 120 articles and book chapters on nutrition and brain development in the newborn and early childhood period, and is a contributing author to AAP’s Handbook on Nutrition. His research focuses on fetal/newborn nutrition, specifically the effect of iron nutrition on brain development and neurocognitive function. He lectures nationally and internationally on nutrition and the developing brain.

» Back to Top



John Himes, PhD  (years one and two)

Dr. Himes is Professor in the Division of Epidemiology and Community Health at the School of Public Health at University of Minnesota. John serves on the Expert Panel for Nutrition for the World Health Organization (WHO) in Geneva; on the Advisory Group on standardizing anthropometric and body composition measurements and reporting for the National Institutes of Health; and recently completed his service on the Advisory Group on the construction of growth velocity standards, Department of Nutrition and Health, WHO, Geneva. He additionally serves as a member of NIH’s Kidney, Nutrition, Obesity, and Diabetes Epidemiology Study Section. He is an experienced researcher and well-published expert in the areas of physical growth and maturation of children; growth and nutrition; anthropometric assessment of nutritional status and dietary assessment.

» Back to Top



Dana Johnson, MD, PhD

Dr. Johnson is a Professor of Pediatrics, member of the Division of Neonatology and a faculty member in the Global Pediatrics Program at the University of Minnesota where Dr. Johnson co-founded the International Adoption Program in 1986. His research interests include the effects of early institutionalization on growth and development and the outcomes of internationally adopted children. Dr. Johnson is an invited speaker worldwide, a Senior Research Fellow in the Evan B. Donaldson Adoption Institute and has authored over 200 scholarly works. He received the Distinguished Service Award from the Joint Council for International Children’s Services, Friend of Children Award from the North American council on Adoptable Children and the Harry Holt Award from Holt International. He is a member of the Board of Directors of JCICS and Half The Sky Foundation. He is also the father of three children including an adopted son from India.

» Back to Top



Zeina Makhoul, PhD, RD

Zeina is a Registered Dietitian and has a PhD in Nutritional Sciences with a focus on international nutrition. Her doctoral work included studies on iron deficiency and night blindness in Nepalese pregnant women and birth outcomes. She completed her postdoctoral training at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, WA where she completed several research studies investigating the role of nutrition in HIV-associated malignancies in Uganda. She also designed and implemented a nutritional assessment system at the pediatric oncology ward at Uganda Cancer Institute. Zeina is working with SPOON Foundation as a nutrition scientist to design nutrition and feeding assessment and programs in orphanages in several developing countries.

» Back to Top



Charles A. Nelson III, PhD

Dr. Nelson is the Richard David Scott Professor of Pediatric Developmental Medicine Research at Children’s Hospital Boston and Director of Research in the Division of Developmental Medicine. He is also Professor of Pediatrics and Neuroscience and Professor of Psychology in Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School; an affiliate faculty member in the Harvard Graduate School of Education; and a Professor in the Department of Society, Human Development and Health, Department of Society, Human Development, and Health, Harvard School of Public Health. He serves on the steering committees of both the Harvard Center on the Developing Child and the Harvard Interfaculty Initiative on Mind, Brain, and Behavior. He has been inducted as a Fellow by the American Psychological Society, American Psychological Association, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science; he has also received an honorary doctorate from the University of Bucharest (Romania). Recognized internationally as a leader in the field of developmental cognitive neuroscience, Dr. Nelson has achieved numerous breakthroughs in broadening scientific understanding of brain and behavioral development during infancy and childhood. Over the last two decades, Dr. Nelson has focused his research efforts on the development and neural bases of memory; recognition and processing of objects, faces, and emotion; and neural plasticity. He has a particular interest in how early experience influences the course of development, and in this context has studied both typically developing children and children at risk for neurodevelopmental disorders. His most recent work focuses on early identification of infants at risk for developing autism, and children experiencing early psychosocial deprivation.

» Back to Top



Kelly R. Walsh, PhD, MBA, RD

Dr. Kelly R. Walsh is the head of Nutrition Science for Mead Johnson Nutrition, North America. He also maintains an adjunct appointment as assistant professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Indiana University School of Medicine. He received his doctorate in Nutritional Biochemistry from The Ohio State University where he also received his training as a Registered Dietitian. Kelly also earned a Masters of Business Administration from the University of Evansville. He is a member of the American Society for Nutrition, the Canadian Nutrition Society, the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (formerly American Dietetic Association), and the Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine. Dr. Walsh serves on the editorial board for the Infant Child and Adolescent Nutrition journal and is a peer-reviewer for multiple scientific journals. His current research interests include premature infant nutrition and metabolism, physiology and biochemistry of lactogenesis, and bioavailability of dietary bioactive components. Kelly has authored multiple publications related to bioavailability and metabolism of dietary bioactive components. He is a co-inventor of a multiple premature infant nutritional products.

» Back to Top